Bread Machine Challah II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I love this challah recipe. It is easy and comes out beautifully. I usually add a bit of extra honey and subtract a bit of the sugar. I think this helps keep the bread sweet without becoming too sweet. Sometimes I have to add extra flour to keep the dough from getting too moist. While the dough doesn't braid as easily as other recipes I've tried, the bread tastes better and the braid looks better after baking then some other doughs I've tried with an easier to braid consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
This is a very good recipe. I have tried several challah recipes and we loved this one. Reading other reviews, some of them mentioned "stickiness". I used 4 1/2 cups of flour and it wasn't sticky at all. Also, recipe says 20-25 minutes. At 25 minutes it hardly had any color. But this was not a big deal I just baked it longer, about 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andilipi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Was a great recipe. My family begged for more. the only modification I made was instead of 1 cup water i only used half and kept everything else the same. Came out perfect every time I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I have tweeked this into the perfect challah. I brought the sugar down to between 1/4 -1/3 cup. Often I use aguave necter for honey as it is tolerated better by people who have sugar problems. I also go up to 5 cups of flour. As for stickiness..sometimes humidity in the house makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I tried this recipe twice. Twice it turned out bad. the dough was so loose, i had to add apx. 2 cups of flour more to the recipe in order to get it to be half way manageable. The bread came out tasting like a biscuit and was inedible. The 2nd time the same thing happened. The dough was so watery it was like batter. I can't believe this recipe got 4.75 stars! I wasted my whole day on this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Mallett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Loved this bread. Followed recipe as written. I have never had Challah bread before so don't have a basis of comparison but this was moist and just sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
To be honest, I didn't bother taking out to shape or to bake in oven, I simply set it for regular 2 lb loaf in my machine and let it bake in there! It was awesome, good thick crust and tender slightly sweet crumb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Louisville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vanya
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Great recipe - the only things I changed were: 1. I used lightly warmed whole milk instead of the water(if the milk is very warm, it will scramble your eggs :)) 2. added the zest of 1 lemon while the machine was shaping the dough ball 3. After I brushed them with the egg, I sprinkled them with granulated sugar. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Delicious bread! I made the whole thing in the bread maker as a basic loaf with light crust setting and it came out perfect. It's a very large loaf - almost hit the top of my machine (I have a 2 lb machine).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Delicous. My first Challah and I had no idea this was so easy to make. Things I realized afterwards: Make sure you let your bread machine go through the complete dough cycle, and get it out of the machine as soon as the dough cycle beeps. Don't allow it to rise past that. Braid, but make sure the "rope" ends are super skinny so when you braid it (I did a beautiful 6 strand braid!) it won't be too crazy lumpy on the ends and it'll be easier to deal with. I also found that it was sticky but a few brushings/tsps. of flour while hovering over the machine while it's moving about will cure it and make it easier to remove later on when it is complete. Just watch and it'll make a ball and not stick to the sides of the machine. I didn't foil tent it, baked it at 325 for about a 25-30 minutes. I quickly painted one whipped up egg several times, as it grew during baking. Good luck. I'm totally making this again. (oh, and I even screwed up and pulled it out before the dough cycle was 1/2 way complete- braided the dough then realized I was supposed to let it go through the entire 1 hr machine dough cycle, then I just threw the two loaves back into the machine, unplugged machine, replugged machine and hit the button for dough again, restarting it from the beginning of cycle. It still turned out great. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States