Bread Machine Challah II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I make this recipe every week now and I think it is outstanding. One point of disagreement with the reviewers here - yes the dough is sticky, but adding so much additional flour changes the texture away from the tender and light qualities of the original. I've found that if I am diligent about having floured hands and a floured board (but not too much flour!) the stickiness problem drops considerably. It also helps to divide the recipe into 3 loaves rather than 2, and to flour a pastry cutter to help transfer the loaves onto the baking stone. also, to get a super shiny glaze, egg wash once after braiding, and a second time after rising. enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Having read previous comments, I knew this recipe might come out wet and sticky. It was extremely wet and I added quite a bit of flour during initial cycle. However it really did not rise. I baked it in a bread pan. It did not bake well and the center was not done. I usually have good luck with other well rated recipes, but I was very disappointed in this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Outrageously good! I see no reason to ever use another bread recipe. Usually I find homemade bread bland and disappointing, but this is great and the texture was perfect. I know some people have mentioned consistency problems, but mine was perfect - flour is finicky. On a relatively dry, cold day, my dough was smooth and satiny and perfect, and I used all of the proportions listed in the recipe (maybe a bit more salt). Thank you so much - great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
i love this recipe i have had to put a little more flour but it always comes out perfect and last week i made it into whole wheat bread :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
This is the recipe I use every week. I add vanilla (1-2 tsp).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Puck
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I made this recipe exactly as directed, and THEN read the reviews...so I had a moment of panic when I thought for sure it wasn't going to turn out right. But, much to my delight, I had no problems. The dough was slightly sticky, but nothing a little flour on the hands couldn't fix. It was easy to work with, and it turned out wonderfully! We really enjoyed this bread, and I will be making it a lot. Also, if anyone is in need of a good laugh, I submitted a picture of my bread. The camera made it look yellow (which it is not in real life, it is a lovely brown), and my braiding skills leave much to be desired (as my daughter has been telling me since she could talk), but the bread is delicious and that is what matters :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I also added the extra 3/4 cup of flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Putnam Valley, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
My family loves this bread and it comes out perfect every time. My kids love the sweetness. Definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Good recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I have made this recipe many times over the last 10+ years - it is absolutely fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States