Bread Machine Challah II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
If you read through the previous reviews, the 1 constant remark “the bread is sticky” appears. We added an additional ¾ c flour to our bread machine (using a total of 4 ½ c flour) which did the trick. What’s the point of using the bread machine if you’re kneading more (in this case A LOT) of extra flour in the end? Our finished product turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
This dough is fantastic! Chewy, yeasty, sweet. Makes a better challah than a deli! It makes 2 medium sized loaves, and we often braid one, place it on slightly greased waxed paper, then a ziploc bag, and pop it in the freezer. We can defrost it, let it rise, and bake it weeks later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
This is a fantastic recipe! My only question is: the dough comes out of the bread machine very sticky and is hard to work with. any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
I'm very experienced with using bread machine recipes, yet I found this bread to be extremely disappointing. The dough turned out like batter and was impossible to shape because it was so sticky. Even working in extra flour was no help. If I'd had extra time, I would have added more flour and more yeast, and put it back through an extra knead and rise cycle. Unfortunately, I didn't have the luxury of time, since I was getting ready for a family holiday function. I'm sure the loaf would have been fine (though perhaps dense) if I'd just poured the batter--um, dough-- into a pan and baked it, but I was really hoping this recipe would yield a loaf I could shape beautifully for our holiday. So in my frustration I threw the dough/batter away. I won't try this recipe again--and this is the first recipe at allrecipes.com that has been so disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarrieHansen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central City, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2001
This recipe is so yummy. I had never made challah before but I found this to be really easy to make. The bread came out so well... my family was convinced that I must have got it from the bakery because it was so good and looked great too. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2003
The bread is absolutely delicious! The flavour is light and mouth watering...you can't stop eating it. I increased the yeast because the first time I made it - it didn't rise enough. So I add three big teaspoons of yeast the next time and it turned out great. I have also tried adding raisins - wow, it was also delicious! mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
add 1/2 cup more flour, and made one loaf instead of 2, which 6 strands....2 over, one under, 2 over, one under. Bake for 25-30 minutes. Can freeze the dough braided before rising...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theycallmeoldfashioned

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Center Point, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Delicious!!! This dense challah has a sweet and delicious flavor. I too added 1/2 cup of high gluten bread flour to the batch which made the consistency perfect! I used to make this recipe with my bread machine, but it broke. I made this recipe last night - making 1.5x the recipe in my kitchen aid. I let the yeast, sugar and water proof for 10 minutes and then mixed in all of the wet ingredients and then all of the dry ingredients. PERFECT!!!! I let it rise in a "PAMed" large bowl covered with saran wrap - in my microwave (I learned that trick somewhere - The dough is still warm from the warm water added to it. I place it in the microwave to rise bc it is confined in there and the walls or the microwave keep it insulated, removing the need to placing in on top of a pot of warm water... (it just gets a little annoying if i NEED the microwave during that time). Let rise for 1.5 hours. Breaded it and let rise for 30 minutes. I have also used this delicious dough for babka and ragulach. The strechines and elasticity of the dough is really great! I did not need to add any more flour after the initial ingredients were all combined!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2001
I have tried many Challah recipies in my life and this one is the best!!! I'm not Jewish, but all my Jewish friends want MY recpie for Challah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southaven, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
I have been searching for some time now for a great Challah dough recipe, and this is it! My mother purchased store bought Challah and I brought 2 loaves of this Challah and no-one ate my mom's! I just floured up my hands to combat the sticky dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States