Bread Machine Challah II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
I made this bread twice: 1st time dough was sticy added flour but it did not rise enough. 2nd time added more flour little less water and oil still did not rise enough. Going to try again with more yeast. Even through all of this it still was the best tasting sweet bread I've ever made. I was making it my traditional coffee can method for EASTER BLESSED BREAD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Very tasty. Makes a good amount of challah - 4 people ate less than one of the two loaves with lunch. After reading other reviews, I used more bread flour than the recipe called for. I made my 4 cups heaping then added a little more (so probably approx 4.5 cups total). I would use more yeast next time - maybe 2 3/4 t. or 1T? Other than that, awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I tried this recipe twice with different jars of yeast but both times it did not rise at all. I then tried another challah recipe with the same yeast and it worked perfectly. I even tried adding additional flour and yeast as other reviewers suggested but it still refused to rise. In my experience, when using a bread machine (that lets the dough rise for an hour) after braiding it should only need to rise for another 20 minutes or so. I don't know why this recipe didn't work for me, but I urge caution!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I've never braided a bread dough but was inspired by this recipe to try it out and it worked great! I was thrilled with the end result. Not only is it beautiful, it was fun to make and the flavor and texture are fantastic. It slices up beautifully. I'm glad it made two loaves since I'm hoping to try making french toast out of any that is left tomorrow. Many reviewers mentioned the dough being too sticky so I added about 1/4 cup additional flour. I think it would have been fine without it though. You just need to flour your board while you are working it into ropes. You don't want it to be too dry. I'll make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Photo by shuki
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This is my favorite challah ever! I don't have a bread machine so I mix it and knead it by hand, then place in a covered oiled bowl for an hour and a half, punch it down to get out air bubbles, then let it rise for another 30 minutes before braiding it. Every time I make the challah everybody loves it and always asks for the recipe. This past shabbat the challah was literally gone in under 1 minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Very good challah recipe. I've made this twice now and have been pleased both times. This is really good buttered with some honey, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I made this 2 weeks ago and added one cup of whole wheat flour to the recipe. It tasted heavenly! I froze one challah and used it last week. It has frozen the best out of any other challah I have tried to freeze in the past. The thing is to wrap it well before putting it in the freezer. It is hard to find good bread machine challah's but this was def one of the best I have eaten!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Made this tonight 4 the first time, with great results!! ;) We ate it with dinner and then I made sandwhiches for my hubby's lunch tomorrow. I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darby B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I sell bread and this bread is a best-seller for me. I braid and put in a 9x5 loaf pan. I cook them for 19 minutes at 350 and turn it out onto a wire rack. As long as the center doesn't cave in (even if it's not browned on the bottom), it's done and will be very light and moist if you wait until completely cooled before cutting. My favorite is having a slice of challah with mayo and a slice of fresh tomato (and I don't really care for the veges) YUMMM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
WOW! What an easy recipe! I did have to add extra flour during the beginning of the cycle, but I have to either add more water or dough to EVERY recipe in the bread maker to get the dough to be the right consistency :) Fresh out of the oven this bread is DIVINE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States