Bread Machine Challah II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
After reading the other reviews, I added an extra 1/2 cup of flour. Other than that I followed the recipe. I don't have the instructions to my bread machine, so I put in all the dry ingredients and then the wet. I set the dough setting and left it. I let the dough rise in my oven, covered in a dishtowel. (Preheated the oven to 120). I made rolls instead of a large loaf. The rolls were good, kind of dense though. Challah is a little lighter. The flavor is very good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake4fun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
After reading a story to my students with Challah in it and eating some form Noah's Bakery, I had to go and find a recipe that could match such a delicious bread. This one is awesome. I have a bread machine but have never used it. The instructions seem so complicated, so I always end up making my bread by hand. I don't mind taking the time as long as the bread tastes good. I proofed the yeast (active dry) in 1/4 cup of the warm water called in the recipe and mixed everything else together including the remaining amount of water(except for the eggs). I whisked the eggs and added it to the everything mixture. Finally I added the yeast mixture. Then I added 2 cups of flour and mixed and finally 2 more cups. It turned out to be a nice dough. Yes, it was a bit sticky, but after rinsing my hands, I was able to able to ball it up and put it in my greased bowl (I used a large pot with a lid!) I turned it over once and let in rise for 1 hour in my garage since these days are 110 out here. It's a perfect place to rise bread! Then I punched it down and let it rise for 30 more minutes. Then I punched it down, kneaded it, and braided it. Then I let the braid rise for another 45 minutes. It did not rise as much as some other bread I made, but it did rise enough for me. It turned out very good! My kids liked it better than a previous recipe I've tried. It was soft, flaky, sweet moist and even buttery in a way. Next time, I'm going to increase the rising time to see if it g
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
My family loves this recipe. Some folks have mentioned that the dough is sticky...I only noticed this to be the case once when I ran out of bread flour and substituted all purpose flour. This challah is absolutely perfect and bakes up beautifully. This is the best bread I have ever baked! It is very easy to braid and rises fluffy and high. Just make sure you are using bread flour as the recipe specifies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happycooker
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
First time I've ever made Challah and it was a success! Very good recipe, no changes needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
I made this after trying out the recipe for Bread Machine Challah 1. This recipe makes a dough that is easier to work with and a final presentation that is nicer looking than Challah 1, but Challah 1 is by far better tasting. We had to restrain ourselves from eating 2 loaves of Challah 1 right out of the oven. I almost threw away Challah II after tasting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunshinenewday

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by YankeesFan
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Absolutely delicious! I followed the recipe exactly except I added an extra 1/2 cup of flour. The dough came out of the machine cleanly and was really easy to work with. I didn't wrap in plastic after braiding, instead I let the shaped dough rise on a baking sheet in a preheated oven @125 degrees - takes less time and results in a better rise. Baking time on the center rack was just a little over 25 minutes and the challah looked and smelled fantastic - the consistency was just right and completely even throughout. The recipe as written yields two medium size challahs. I think we have a new family favorite! Thanks so much for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YankeesFan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Awesome! Only change I made was based on reviews, I added an extra 1/2 cup of flour, it came out PERFECT. Made it for Easter and already have requests for me to make more. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
I made this bread twice: 1st time dough was sticy added flour but it did not rise enough. 2nd time added more flour little less water and oil still did not rise enough. Going to try again with more yeast. Even through all of this it still was the best tasting sweet bread I've ever made. I was making it my traditional coffee can method for EASTER BLESSED BREAD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Very tasty. Makes a good amount of challah - 4 people ate less than one of the two loaves with lunch. After reading other reviews, I used more bread flour than the recipe called for. I made my 4 cups heaping then added a little more (so probably approx 4.5 cups total). I would use more yeast next time - maybe 2 3/4 t. or 1T? Other than that, awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I tried this recipe twice with different jars of yeast but both times it did not rise at all. I then tried another challah recipe with the same yeast and it worked perfectly. I even tried adding additional flour and yeast as other reviewers suggested but it still refused to rise. In my experience, when using a bread machine (that lets the dough rise for an hour) after braiding it should only need to rise for another 20 minutes or so. I don't know why this recipe didn't work for me, but I urge caution!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States