Bread Machine Challah II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by I Love Troy
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Delicious! and Beautiful! Not Jewish, so I had never heard of Challah. So glad I tried this. Had absolutely no problem making this. 5 stars easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I Love Troy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I have absolutely no idea how this is almost 5 stars. I just tried to use this recipe verbatim and it turned out a runny batter, like loose baby food. Not dough. Nothing I can work with. I wasted my night and a good amount of ingredients. Be warned. If we have Challah for Rosh Hashanah, it will be because I use another recipe or go to the store. 0 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by betabear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This was a great recipe! I added the little extra flour and the consistency was perfect. Baked very quickly and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss_October23

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Great recipe! My co-workers loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
This is absolutely the best recipe for Challah. I have made this recipe many times and it always comes out excellent.No tweaking needed, it is perfect as is. I let my loaves rise on my gas stove resting on a pot so they don't get too warm. Thanks for such a wonderful, tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
After reading the other reviews, I added an extra 1/2 cup of flour. Other than that I followed the recipe. I don't have the instructions to my bread machine, so I put in all the dry ingredients and then the wet. I set the dough setting and left it. I let the dough rise in my oven, covered in a dishtowel. (Preheated the oven to 120). I made rolls instead of a large loaf. The rolls were good, kind of dense though. Challah is a little lighter. The flavor is very good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake4fun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
After reading a story to my students with Challah in it and eating some form Noah's Bakery, I had to go and find a recipe that could match such a delicious bread. This one is awesome. I have a bread machine but have never used it. The instructions seem so complicated, so I always end up making my bread by hand. I don't mind taking the time as long as the bread tastes good. I proofed the yeast (active dry) in 1/4 cup of the warm water called in the recipe and mixed everything else together including the remaining amount of water(except for the eggs). I whisked the eggs and added it to the everything mixture. Finally I added the yeast mixture. Then I added 2 cups of flour and mixed and finally 2 more cups. It turned out to be a nice dough. Yes, it was a bit sticky, but after rinsing my hands, I was able to able to ball it up and put it in my greased bowl (I used a large pot with a lid!) I turned it over once and let in rise for 1 hour in my garage since these days are 110 out here. It's a perfect place to rise bread! Then I punched it down and let it rise for 30 more minutes. Then I punched it down, kneaded it, and braided it. Then I let the braid rise for another 45 minutes. It did not rise as much as some other bread I made, but it did rise enough for me. It turned out very good! My kids liked it better than a previous recipe I've tried. It was soft, flaky, sweet moist and even buttery in a way. Next time, I'm going to increase the rising time to see if it g
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
My family loves this recipe. Some folks have mentioned that the dough is sticky...I only noticed this to be the case once when I ran out of bread flour and substituted all purpose flour. This challah is absolutely perfect and bakes up beautifully. This is the best bread I have ever baked! It is very easy to braid and rises fluffy and high. Just make sure you are using bread flour as the recipe specifies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happycooker
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
First time I've ever made Challah and it was a success! Very good recipe, no changes needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
I made this after trying out the recipe for Bread Machine Challah 1. This recipe makes a dough that is easier to work with and a final presentation that is nicer looking than Challah 1, but Challah 1 is by far better tasting. We had to restrain ourselves from eating 2 loaves of Challah 1 right out of the oven. I almost threw away Challah II after tasting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunshinenewday

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States