Bread Machine Challah II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I made this for Rosh Hashanah. Instead of braiding it, I made it into a round loaf by rolling it into a snake with tappered ends, then rolling it up from one end, like a big spiral. People were taking seconds and thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
This is a super easy recipe to follow. I made no changes in the recipe and it turned out to be better than the $6.00 a loaf bread at the farmers market. Very easy to braid to. Well done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Mad Hatter

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Grand Island, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
the best bread recipe I've ever made...it doesn't last a day in my house. I did take the previous reviewer's suggestion and added a 1/2 cup more flour so it is not sticky but completely manageable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
I have been making Challah since I was 13 years old, and tried every old yenta's recipe in my synagogue. This is the first to produce moisture, flavor AND texture. Not to mention nearly zero prep time. The search is over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Followed review instructions to add more flour. It was perfect! Thanks for the recipe, I am using it to make French toast casserole tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Delicious!!! This dense challah has a sweet and delicious flavor. I too added 1/2 cup of high gluten bread flour to the batch which made the consistency perfect! I used to make this recipe with my bread machine, but it broke. I made this recipe last night - making 1.5x the recipe in my kitchen aid. I let the yeast, sugar and water proof for 10 minutes and then mixed in all of the wet ingredients and then all of the dry ingredients. PERFECT!!!! I let it rise in a "PAMed" large bowl covered with saran wrap - in my microwave (I learned that trick somewhere - The dough is still warm from the warm water added to it. I place it in the microwave to rise bc it is confined in there and the walls or the microwave keep it insulated, removing the need to placing in on top of a pot of warm water... (it just gets a little annoying if i NEED the microwave during that time). Let rise for 1.5 hours. Breaded it and let rise for 30 minutes. I have also used this delicious dough for babka and ragulach. The strechines and elasticity of the dough is really great! I did not need to add any more flour after the initial ingredients were all combined!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
OMG! this bread is addictive literally one of the best things that I have ever made, and I cook all the time. Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allegra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I can't say enough good things about Challah. It's one of my favorite breads to make and this is a good recipe. The only thing I didn't like was the amount of oil in it... I could feel it while kneeding it between rises...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I've tried so many challah recipes and I like this one a lot. I followed a reviewer's suggestion and added an extra 1/2 cup flour to prevent stickiness. It had wonderful texture and flavor. The first time I made it I didn't have any honey, but after making it again with the honey added, I actually liked it better without because it was a tad bit fluffier. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States