Bread Machine Challah II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
This is the recipe I use every week. I add vanilla (1-2 tsp).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Puck
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I made this recipe exactly as directed, and THEN read the reviews...so I had a moment of panic when I thought for sure it wasn't going to turn out right. But, much to my delight, I had no problems. The dough was slightly sticky, but nothing a little flour on the hands couldn't fix. It was easy to work with, and it turned out wonderfully! We really enjoyed this bread, and I will be making it a lot. Also, if anyone is in need of a good laugh, I submitted a picture of my bread. The camera made it look yellow (which it is not in real life, it is a lovely brown), and my braiding skills leave much to be desired (as my daughter has been telling me since she could talk), but the bread is delicious and that is what matters :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I also added the extra 3/4 cup of flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Putnam Valley, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
My family loves this bread and it comes out perfect every time. My kids love the sweetness. Definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Good recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I have made this recipe many times over the last 10+ years - it is absolutely fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Just made this for the first time. I've tried several bread machine challah recipes and this is the very best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This recipe was actually perfect in the flour/water ratio. The dough should be slightly sticky/moist. And I got the right texture. Remember it makes a huge, and I mean HUGE difference in different climates/humidity etc. I would err with the least and then check the dough mid cycle to see if you need more flour or water. Meanwhile, I did two braids from this recipe, and baked up great. Thanks,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Followed this recipe exactly except I added sesame seeds on top before baking and it turned out amazing! This was my first time making Challah, and only my second time eating it. My husband and I finish off the entire loaf because it was so good! I ended up braiding both halves and freezing one in a greased freezer bag. I can't wait to bake it up in a few weeks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Too gooey. Did not work at all. Did it twice. Same result twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcelo Cukierman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States