Bread Machine Challah II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
The first time I used all purpose flour and the dough was sticky. After that I made sure to only use bread flour and the dough wasn't at all sticky. This is so delicious and easy to make every week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
Love it! I added two extra spoons of flour and before kneading I rubbed into my hands olive oil to prevent sticking. Thank you so much for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
loved this bread. i make this one once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shelbyville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Easy to follow recipe and the bread was delicious. I followed it to the letter and had no difficulties at all. The honey was a nice addition and gave the bread just a touch more sweetness which is the way I remember it from buying it at the bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I love the taste and texture of this challah, but can't seem to get mine to rise properly. I am giving it four stars b/c it is absolutely addictive and everyone enjoys it, but I sure wish I could make it fluffier. Have tried increasing the yeast but it hasn't made much difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This bread was fantastic, we all loved it, I made 2 loaves with mine and froze one. believe me it diden`t last or go tough like many I have tried, Sincerly Florence Thanks Marylyn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Florence

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
I made this bread exactly as the recipe indicates. I used the dough setting on my bread machine and then proofed and baked. The Jewish family I made this for was ecstatic. I'm going back for my fourth jewish holiday with their family and they always want me to bring a loaf. I have no complaints. Sticky doughs require extra flour on the surface you are using it on and on your hands. I find that with a small bowl of flour on the side I can keep it from being sticky and it turns out lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This was just okay. Not great, not bad per se. I have been having bad luck with bread lately, so maybe it was just me. Didn't rise nearly like the picture implies. And yeah, the dough was REALLY sticky. I may have added too much flour at the kneading stage, but I don't think I would bother making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
my family devoured this challah in 10 minutes. it was the hit of the dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
If you read through the previous reviews, the 1 constant remark “the bread is sticky” appears. We added an additional ¾ c flour to our bread machine (using a total of 4 ½ c flour) which did the trick. What’s the point of using the bread machine if you’re kneading more (in this case A LOT) of extra flour in the end? Our finished product turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States