Bread Machine Challah II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I made this as a round raisin challah for Rosh Hashanah. My family LOVED it and were so impressed! thanks for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This was an excellent challah with one important caveat -- the water-to-flour ratio is way off. Use about 7/8 cup water and then add extra flour, a tablespoon at a time during the initial knead, until it forms a slightly sticky smooth ball of dough. (I didn't keep track but easily added at least another half cup of flour.) Leave all the other ingredients in the same proportions as written (I actually substituted about a third of the oil with melted butter). This baked up beautifully (we made a beautiful round braided loaf for rosh hashanah) and was by far the best-tasting and best-texture challah out of 4-5 different bread machine recipes I have tried. Moist, chewy, delicious. One other very helpful thing is to stick a meat thermometer into the dough before you put it in the oven, and bake until it just reaches 200 degrees. Take it out, and it will be perfect. No more tapping on the crust and guessing! p.s. 7 people for dinner and the bread was devoured--the only thing we didn't have leftovers of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Sticky dough- I had to knead in more than a cup of flour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erinid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Auntie D in MN
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
This recipe is great! Using the bread machine to make the dough makes this so simple with impressive results. Challah bread is so good toasted with butter and jam, as french toast, or even in your favorite bread pudding recipe. This is a bread I will make over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
Excellent flavor! I used 4 cups of bread flour, but the dough was way too sticky. I definitely recommend you add at least 3/4-1 cup of extra bread flour to the bread machine before starting the dough cycle....but begin with the smaller amount, then if you need more flour, add the other 1/4 cup SLOWLY after you turn on the bread machine. Depending on the humidity, you may even need to add more flour before shaping the loaves. Also, my loaves didn't require as much baking time as the recipe states; so watch the oven closely or your crust will burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
Excellent, I did need to add 3/4 c flour after out of bread machine, but made excellent french toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wmoore
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
The best! My husband and I almost stood in front of the oven and ate the whole thing warm. Just melts in the mouth. No butter or extras needed - tastes perfect all by itself. And so easy. Thanks so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmoore

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
This is an excellent, very easy bread to make. My granddaughter helped me make the bread and loved it so much that she took my bread machine home with her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sanford, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
The first time I used all purpose flour and the dough was sticky. After that I made sure to only use bread flour and the dough wasn't at all sticky. This is so delicious and easy to make every week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
Love it! I added two extra spoons of flour and before kneading I rubbed into my hands olive oil to prevent sticking. Thank you so much for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States