Bread Machine Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
This is one of those rare "Holy ***, I can't believe I just made something this delicious" recipes. I used the dough setting and then braided it and baked it in the oven, as other reviewers suggested. I've been experimenting with lots of different breads since buying my bread machine about a month ago, but this is the first time I've made challah, and it's by far the best bread I've ever made. Both the texture and taste are perfect, better than anything I've ever had at a bakery. Thanks so much for sharing this incredible recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I substituted butter for margarine, and brown sugar for white. Bread came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandra rodriguez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
This is the best bread ever. I followed the recipe with a couple of additions. I was looking to make all bread very soft like store bought, and after researching I found if you add 1 tsp. of vital wheat gluten, 1 TBSP. of soy lecithin granules, and 1 TBSP of Malt barley syrup... You have a huge loaf of the softest bread ever!!! Thanks for the delicious recipe. Will be making this more often!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
The entire family LOVES this recipe and I never would have imagined how insanely good it is for french toast too! Perfect recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I have made this bread a few times and it always comes out great. I do add an extra egg, however. I have even added cinnamon to give it an extra kick of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Dilworth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Followed the directions exactly and measured carefully - no problems at all with dryness. This is a wonderfully textured bread, especially for French toast or regular toast. I worried about using the regular yeast without proofing and might have subbed with quick a rise had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
So far it's the best bread machine recipe. No changes needed. Never fail. Amazing how a few simple ingredients can yield such a fantastic bread, while other recipes, not so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Wow! This was amazing! Better than any store bought Challah. Soo good. I made it once before & it was OK. The second time I made it I ensured that all of the ingredients were at room temperature. I'm pretty sure that made a HUGE difference. It was soft, gooey & sweet. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marta Allen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Followed advice of other reviews and added a 3rd egg. Used 1/4 cup honey in lieu of sugar and added about a quarter cup extra flour while dough was mixing. I always proof my yeast - the only time I didn't, my bread failed to rise properly in the machine. Nuked the milk until warm to touch (about 40 seconds, stirring once) before adding honey and yeast. Using my bread machine, I set to dough while mixing ingredients. When cycle ended (including rising time), I coated the dough ball with EVOO and baked loaf on 2 pound sweet bread setting, light crust (complete with the mixing and rising.) I pulled the loaf out of the pan quickly after it finished baking. Loaf came out perfectly, the top pressed to the window of my bread machine. 4 stars because I altered the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
This recipe is super easy and super delicious. Family loved it!!! loved how it didn't explode in my machine and even made clean up easy;).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States