Bread Machine Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
The first time I made this bread following exactly the recipe, but when I looked at the dough in the machine it was VERY crumbly, so I had to put more milk. Since the bread was delicious, I tried it an other time (to give to my in-laws) and I tried it with an extra egg (3 instead of 2). The dough was perfect and everybody liked it very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
283 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
I've tried a to make a number of challah recipes in my bread machine, and this is the first one that's turned out really well. The texture and taste are terrific. I prefer to use the bread machine to make the dough, and then braid the bread, let it rise for another hour or so, and bake it in a conventional oven for 35 minutes at 375 degrees. This recipe is also great with raisins added in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
233 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROGAMIL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
Great challah- I add 1-2 extra Tbsp. sugar to it. I make it on the dough setting in my bread machine then let my kids braid it. Then I let in rise in a warm oven for an hour. Then glaze it with a mixture of one egg and 1 Tbsp water. I bake it for about 20-30 min. at 350. My family LOVES it!! Looks like I bought it from a bakery!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
This deserves 10 stars atleast!! Easily the best loaf of bread on this site. Rose nicely, has great texture & flavor. I scalded the milk, cooled it to 100 degrees & proofed the yeast in it with a pinch of sugar. I then added the 2 eggs & 3 T oil(instead of margarine). I poured that into the machine; combined all dry ingredients & poured that on top of the wet ingrediemts. Set on medium & voila! a beautiful loaf of bread!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2002
Thanks for the recipe. Didn't get a chance to turn it into a french toast breakfast. Family ate it out of the oven for dinner. The first time you use it in the bread machine, don't use the delayed timer. Instead, watch the dough to see if it needs more or less milk. Should form a smooth, soft ball after kneading. Test the crust setting, it gets dark fast. Record this amount of milk and crust time for the next time. This prevents a dried out or blackened loaf. I found I needed a bit more milk and a medium crust on sweet dough cycle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
I've loved Challah ever since I worked for a Jewish family a few years ago and was introduced to this wonderful bread. I now live in a rural Nova Scotia town, and Challah bread isn't something one would usually come accross. Anyway, now I can make this in my bread machine, and I am delighted with the results!! I too did as another reviewer and set my machine to the dough cycle, so I could take the dough out, braid it, and bake it in a conventional oven. Once braided, brush the bread with a beaten egg,and sprinkle with poppy or sesame seeds. This is beautiful, great tasting Challah. Thanks Suzy for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollycurls77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2002
Excellant challah bread. Loaf just came out of machine and already half gone. I added 3/4 cup golden raisins and baked on sweet setting and light crust...came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
To solve the crustiness of that this bread produces, we restrain ourselves and put the loaf into a ziploc bag and put it in the refridgerator overnight. Who needs to buy those store bought breads now? :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
This bread is SO yummy! I took the suggestion of another reviewer and made this in my bread maker to the dough stage. Then I finished with the Bread Machine Challah II recipe. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Bend, Kansas, USA
Living In: Prairie Village, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2002
This bread is delicious. It is crumbly after the first day, so enjoy it all at dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States