Bread Machine Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I also added a third egg, a tablespoon of honey and about 1/16 to 1/8 of ground Allspice. It tasted JUST LIKE our local bakery's Easter Bread!! WONDERFUL!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This bread tastes great, but wasn't really challah texture in our opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Best loaf of bread to ever come out of my bread machine, hands down! It is now THE bread to make in my house. Did not alter the recipe at all, and came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
great challah. I make it with whole wheat flour, add a Tbsp of vital wheat gluten, and the following replacements: 3 eggs, 1/4 cup honey instead of white sugar, almond/soy milk and oil instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I can't help but wonder if this is what it's supposed to taste like...? It's not very good. I added a 3rd egg like someone else suggested. The texture of the bread is fine, but it didn't rise very much and is a very dense loaf. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susanne
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Delicious! I used Splenda in place of the sugar and Almond Milk instead of dairy and was still successful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carthage, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Used the dough setting, braided it, sat in warm oven for 1 to 1 1/2 hrs and then baked. (350 for 30-40 minutes until knocking on it sounds hollow) Perfect for french toast! note to self: Spray with water and cover with plastic before putting in warm oven to rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
So many have already rated this recipe, there isn't much more to say --- but I wanted to rate it so that I could give it 5 stars. This is an excellent bread machine recipe! The texture is wonderful. Makes wonderful "salad-type" sandwiches such as chicken or tuna salad. (The bread holds up to the moisture better than Wonder-type bread.) I keep a loaf in my freezer for french toast, too. I don't change one thing about the recipe and have made it many, many times. Thanks for sharing a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
It is a good recipe but really enough for a 2 pound bread. It rose all the way to the top and got stuck on the lid. I think cutback the flour a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Super Dad 2.0

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novi, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Soft, delicious and so easy! I made sure my milk was warm when adding to the machine, but otherwise just followed the recipe! I will be making this again and again. Great plain, with butter, or in French toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States