Bread Machine Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 23)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
THE easiest recipe for bread machine bread with the most flavor ever! Thanks for the reviews that mentioned to bake on 'light' crust. Comes out perfect everytime. I always rolled my eyes when I read that some people make bread every night (why when you can buy it!) not anymore! This recipe is soooo easy and yummy (I know it by heart now!) it's so simple to make and have on hand. PLUS the family LOVES the aroma through the home...free potpourri! lol. :) THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHIEFCOOKJULIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midway City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
This smelled so good and baked up nice and soft. I used skim milk and 1 real egg, 1 egg substitute. I will make this again. Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
Fast and easy to mix up. Nice texture and flavor. Wanted to make bread pudding with this - but looks like it will all be eaten as slices. Glad the recipe indicated to use the light setting on the bread machine - got a nice golden brown. (Usually I have to use Medium to get that color!)Good will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
I don't know if I have an appreciation for challah like others do. It's heavier than other breads. It was good, however. I liked the top crust, it was flaky around the edges and it had a nice golden color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
OOooh wow this is just great! No need to change a thing, come out fabulous ever time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
It turned out light & chewy. I used kosher salt so it's a bit saltier than I expected. Next time I'll try table salt or less kosher salt. The smell was wonderful while it baked & everyone in my house gathered around to try it when it came out. I think this is going to become a regular for the bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
This is so easy and I have yet to screw it up! I make it every week and it's terrific. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
This bread had a yummy flavor but the loaf was small and very dense, not the typical Challah I was expecting. I really liked the flavor but I don't think I'll use this recipe again. (revised review) I tried this recipe again on accident (forgot I tried it before!) with our new bread machine and it was a lot better. I made it especially for dipping with fondue and our guests loved the bread and requested the recipe! I think it worked out better because our new machine had a crust color setting and is more precise with the baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2003
All I have to say is... DELICIOUS!! It went very well with the "Baked Potato Soup" off this site! Hubby was amazed! So was I. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2003
I slightly modified this recipe. I used Spelt Flour, Soy Milk and Brown Sugar. I also had to adjust the amount of flour because the dough was very soft. So I ended up using 3 3/4 Cups of flour. It turned out so well. Definitely the best bread I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 221-230 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States