Bread Machine Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 21)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
This bread was awsome! I was looking for a good sweet bread, and this one wins the prize. Thanks for the tip about the Light Crust setting, because it still turned out very dark on the light setting. This recipe is going into my permanant recipe box! thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
This a quick and easy challah recipe with a great taste and texture. I threw all the ingredients into my machine after lunch and it was ready when my boys got home from school. They LOVED it. I checked during the mixing phase to make sure it didn't need more flour, but the recipe was fine as written. I used the last 2" of the machine baked loaf for Tonga Toast (the yummy cinnamon/banana french toast they serve at Disneyworld's Polynesian Resort) two days later and it was delicious. My machine is making another loaf right now...with three little boys lined up watching and asking when it will be ready!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
I love this bread and so does my family. I make it with splenda for a lighter calorie bread. I take if out of the machine asap so the the crust doesnt get to stiff. I make it at least once a month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
My family and I love this challah! I made it several times in my bread machine, but my machine broke. We loved this bread so much that I made it by hand for a while. Now I use a food processor with dough hooks. After letting it rise for about an hour and a half, I braid it, let it rise again, brush it with beaten egg, and cook it in the oven. This bread has just the right density and texture, and the flavor is very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2005
I cooked it in the oven and it just didn't hold the shape well. I did brush it with butter before baking and the crust was very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2005
I am used to REALLY GOOD Challah bread that I used to buy from a local bakery. The bakery closed, so I tried this quick variation. I didn't expect it to be as great, but it was just ehhhhh. Somewhat reminded me of corn bread. However, I'm probably just spoiled with the Challah I used to buy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2005
I don't have a bread machine, so I made this by hand. Warmed the milk, and added it after the flour, so that the eggs wouldn't cook. I used 1 c. wheat flour and 2 c. bread flour. I let it rise in an oiled bowl for a little over an hour, and it didn't rise at all. I was a little concerned, but I thought, "oh well, it'll still taste good." And so I braided it and tossed it in the oven at 350 for 25 - 30 minutes. It rose beautifully in the oven, which I was pleased with. This was delicious, and made great grilled cheese sandwhiches and french toast. Will certainly be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
Absolutely fantastic! The texture and crust are perfect. I used all purpose flour and can't imagine bread flour working any better. Extremely delicious for snacking or sandwiches. I've also made the dough in the machine and then baked it in the oven. Both ways are absolutely scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meatball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Caledonia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
Very easy to make and quite delicious! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
Excellent. I never got it wrong. Try the variations: Throw in some seseme seeds. And, use brown sugar instead of sugar. Any variation works out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 201-210 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States