Bread Machine Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
The first time I made this recipe it came out fine. I'm new to my breadmaker, so it was okay. I used regular white flour. But then I switched to bread flour (robin good) and WOW. It's amazing what a small change can do. I make it almost exactly as the recipe says, except I add the salt to the liquid ingredients. It produces a light, flaky (but not too much), buttery bread, right out of the breadmaker, and my family can't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Great bread. After having baked the same bread several times, I changed the regular flour with "spelt". For you who doesn't know what "spelt" (also called dinkel wheat or hulled wheat) is, I can tell you, that it's an ancient species of wheat from the fifth millenium BC. It's easy to get in supermarkeds and/or health stores! It originates from Europe. Great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I was searching for a recipe like Mom used to make when I came across this one. It was the closest of all the recipes I tried, still not quite there though. Then one snowy afternoon I was out of milk and didn't want to go to the store. So I used the canned milk in the pantry and that was it. The missing ingredient, canned milk. I highly recommend it, gives the bread a slightly different flavor that is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynnette Purvis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Great easy recipe. Having made it several times the i start with warm milk for a better rise and dough needs to be just a bit on the sticky side for best results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Good call on the reviewer recommending using the light setting. That worked perfectly in my machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Good recipe, but not traditional since it should be Parve. My Oster machine likes this on basic or i substitute honey for use on the sweet setting, and i save one of the egg whites for a glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This recipe is great. The only thing I did differently, mixed in the bread machine, transferred the dough, and placed in a Bread Pan, to rise, then bake it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This was a great loaf of bread! I made it for dinner and it's gone. Good flavor. Good texture. it's just really good bread. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
After all this time making bread in my BM, I finally found a recipe that makes the best bread that I have ever tasted. I will make this again and again and again.... thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I have hyperemesis gravidarum, and have so much trouble eating that I get almost all of my nutrition through an IV. The ONLY thing I have been able to keep down for the last month is this bread. A slice straight out of the bread maker with a tiny bit of butter and honey is soooooooo good. The only challenge is keeping my husband and kids from eating it before I get the chance to have some. They love it as much as I do, and eat it plain or make it into French toast. I have a feeling that I will keep making this long after my baby is born and I'm eating normally again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States