Bread Machine Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
I wouldn't change a thing. This is the first bread I made in my new bread machine and I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
This is great bread for bread machines. I brought the milk, eggs and margarine to room temp before adding it all together. It came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
My family loves this.I make it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
So tasty and moist! I am still pretty new at using the bread machine, so I got nervous when it looked really wet during the rising time. Much to my relief it came out perfectly! We love the taste, and my husband said it's his new favorite bread. I followed another reviewer's advice and took the bread out of the machine right when it was finished so it would not continue to cook/get brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
Oh..my..gosh..This bread is sooo good! I followed the recepie exactly, except I used the "sweet bread" setting. It was perfect. Good flavor, texture, color, everything. Had some the next morning, and it was not nearly as yummy. Next time I will use the leftovers for french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
This bread was awsome! I was looking for a good sweet bread, and this one wins the prize. Thanks for the tip about the Light Crust setting, because it still turned out very dark on the light setting. This recipe is going into my permanant recipe box! thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
This a quick and easy challah recipe with a great taste and texture. I threw all the ingredients into my machine after lunch and it was ready when my boys got home from school. They LOVED it. I checked during the mixing phase to make sure it didn't need more flour, but the recipe was fine as written. I used the last 2" of the machine baked loaf for Tonga Toast (the yummy cinnamon/banana french toast they serve at Disneyworld's Polynesian Resort) two days later and it was delicious. My machine is making another loaf right now...with three little boys lined up watching and asking when it will be ready!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
I love this bread and so does my family. I make it with splenda for a lighter calorie bread. I take if out of the machine asap so the the crust doesnt get to stiff. I make it at least once a month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
My family and I love this challah! I made it several times in my bread machine, but my machine broke. We loved this bread so much that I made it by hand for a while. Now I use a food processor with dough hooks. After letting it rise for about an hour and a half, I braid it, let it rise again, brush it with beaten egg, and cook it in the oven. This bread has just the right density and texture, and the flavor is very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2005
I cooked it in the oven and it just didn't hold the shape well. I did brush it with butter before baking and the crust was very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States