Bread Machine Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
This had a really good flavor. I mixed it in the bread machine, and baked it in the oven, I liked how it rose so much when it baked, I was afraid that I had done something wrong, like not adding enough yeast, but it rose perfectly in the oven. I did find that the crust got hard fairly quickly, but other than that, it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~S~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
My family loves this bread. It consistently turns out well. Every time I make it every one says "This is the best bread you ever made".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Just a delicious bread recipe - super texture. I used the ingredients as directed, although took the advice of reviewers and put the machine on the dough setting, and after taking the dough out, braided it, let it rise an hour and baked it at 375 degrees for 25 minutes (I found any more browned it too much, and it was done enough). Thanks for the recipe Suzy - a definite make again! And a P.S. - I used this bread to make Fluffy French Toast (from this site), and it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
this is an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ethridge, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Corinth, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amber
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
The first time I made this it was so moist I kept having to throw in more and more flour. Then I realized much later on that I forgot the sugar! No need to worry it still turned out amazing and still had a certain sweetness. I'm making it again today only breaking down the dough in half to make two smaller loaves. What wonderful gifts these will make. Thanks a ton.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
Perfect! I made 8 smaller challahs instead of one big, so my kids could just grab one any time they wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steph webb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
This was very good, I tasted it while it was hot with just some butter on it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prell2k4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
made this yesterday for Easter, came out great!! I did put this into the bread machine but only hit the dough cycle. When done my daughter divided the dough into 3 parts made 3 long snakes out of them and braided the dough together tucking the ends under onto a greased cookie sheet. I then placed in dough into the oven (not turned on) covered the bread with a clean kitchen towel and rested the dough for about 25 minutes. When done resting, take dough out of the oven. At this point pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Now make an egg wash: take one egg white with 1 tablespoon of water whisk with a fork and brush on top of bread I also sprinkled seasame seeds on top too. return bread/dough to oven for aprox 25 to 30 minutes til golden brown. The next time I make this bread my husband suggested to me to meke this bread with raisins in it, that sounds yummy too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
This came out really great and was very tasty. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States