Bread Machine Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Yum! This is my go-to bread recipe for making French Toast Casserole. It turns out perfectly every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
This recipe turned out great! I read the previous comments and added 2 tablespoons of honey. The sweetness really popped and the bread was soft and moist. I will make this bread again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn Stamm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
My favorite bread recipe. Have a new bread machine, and have tried a few different types of bread. I like sweet egg breads, and this recipe turns out a perfect bread. This time I let the machine bake it, maybe next time I'll braid it myself. This recipe is a great place to start for home made bread! Everyone loves it, and hubby who grew up with challah says it tastes like the bread growing up. Positive reviews all around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
This turned out super. We were worried we didn't use warm milk but the yeast worked and very crispy bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
So easy and so YUMMY! My wife said this was by far the best bread I have made for us in the machine. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karlikarli
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This is now my favourite bread recipe. I adjusted the serving to 16 and then upped the milk to 300mL and the eggs to 3. I proofed the yeast in scalded and cooled milk before starting and made sure everything else was at room temperature. I did not have bread flour so used Canadian all purpose and it still rose beautifully. After the dough cycle completed I braided my bread and let it rise in my oven. To warm the oven slightly I popped in a pan of boiling water which I removed right before I put in the loaf. Then the oven light was left on to provide just enough warmth. After an hour it was massive so I took it out and gave it and egg wash bath while the oven heated to 350. After baking about 55 minutes it was gorgeous and I was giddy. Everyone at dinner raved about the flavour too. Wonderful bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I haven't had Challah in years and this came out perfect! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I made this in my machine on the dough setting. 6 braided it and let it rise an hour. Then I brushed it with egg wash and topped it with pumpkin seeds and baked at 350 for 25 minutes. This. Is. Delicious!!! Love this recipe and bread! YUMMY! So glad it was posted! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
The first time I made this recipe it came out fine. I'm new to my breadmaker, so it was okay. I used regular white flour. But then I switched to bread flour (robin good) and WOW. It's amazing what a small change can do. I make it almost exactly as the recipe says, except I add the salt to the liquid ingredients. It produces a light, flaky (but not too much), buttery bread, right out of the breadmaker, and my family can't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Great bread. After having baked the same bread several times, I changed the regular flour with "spelt". For you who doesn't know what "spelt" (also called dinkel wheat or hulled wheat) is, I can tell you, that it's an ancient species of wheat from the fifth millenium BC. It's easy to get in supermarkeds and/or health stores! It originates from Europe. Great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States