Bread Machine Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I was somewhat skeptical but the bread turned out great! I used 1 egg plus 2 yolks instead of the 2 eggs. Texture and taste were excellent. I may have left the crust on Med and not light because it turned out quite light in color. THX!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This was too dense for me, but a friend of mine really likes her bread that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELTTEACH

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
We love this bread.. Never fails, great taste and texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hierrazip

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pchotrani
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Gorgeous bread. Added an extra 2 tbsp of sugar. I made it for my fiancees co workers and they were impressed. The dough was extremly sticky while it was on the dough setting in my machine so I added about 1/4 cup of additional bread flour. When I took it out it was still very sticky and hard to handle so I heavily floured my hands and work area and it seemed to help. I kneaded in 1/4 cup of golden raisins. and brushed on some egg wash. Took only 20 mins on a greased and floured cookie sheet. Before he took it to work the next day I wrapped it in large foil and put it on the keep warm setting in the oven at 200 degrees and it softened up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pchotrani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Not sure what I may have done wrong. This was too dense for me. I am not sure if it was supposed to be that way with the milk and eggs. I prefer a fluffier loaf of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I'm in love with this recipe. The key is to stand over your bread maker and see if the dough becomes a smooth ball shape after a few minutes of the machine kneading. If it's crumbly add some milk or eggs, if its really sticky add a sprinkle of flour until it turns smooth. I've made this with wheat flour, added raisins and just plain followed the recipe and I've had great results every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Delicious and sweet just as challah should be! I've made it just as the recipe calls for and have substituted part of the white flour for whole wheat to make it healthier and it's STILL delicious! Good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JewRican

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
OMG, I've been using my bread machine for 3 years, and this is positively the best recipe I've come across. W O W .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
very good bread! goes fast around my house ^-^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I added an extra egg to this recipe. It was the first bread I've made with a bread machine. I took it out and braided it before the second rising. It is a perfect texture with a delicious sweet taste and aroma. If you're a Challah lover, this is the recipe for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States