Bread Machine Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Great easy recipe. Having made it several times the i start with warm milk for a better rise and dough needs to be just a bit on the sticky side for best results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Good call on the reviewer recommending using the light setting. That worked perfectly in my machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Good recipe, but not traditional since it should be Parve. My Oster machine likes this on basic or i substitute honey for use on the sweet setting, and i save one of the egg whites for a glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This recipe is great. The only thing I did differently, mixed in the bread machine, transferred the dough, and placed in a Bread Pan, to rise, then bake it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This was a great loaf of bread! I made it for dinner and it's gone. Good flavor. Good texture. it's just really good bread. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
After all this time making bread in my BM, I finally found a recipe that makes the best bread that I have ever tasted. I will make this again and again and again.... thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I have hyperemesis gravidarum, and have so much trouble eating that I get almost all of my nutrition through an IV. The ONLY thing I have been able to keep down for the last month is this bread. A slice straight out of the bread maker with a tiny bit of butter and honey is soooooooo good. The only challenge is keeping my husband and kids from eating it before I get the chance to have some. They love it as much as I do, and eat it plain or make it into French toast. I have a feeling that I will keep making this long after my baby is born and I'm eating normally again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
This recipe turned out great. I tossed in an extra egg, although I don't think it even needed it. I will try it with just 2 next time. I did set the machine to Dough Only and baked it at 375 degrees for 30 minutes. I think its the best Challah I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hartland, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Used olive oil instead of butter and also did it on the dough cycle. Then I braided it and baked at 375. Basted with egg a few times while baking.Was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTINE5014

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I was a little doubtful about this recipe.. but it was yummy! Because my yeast is almost a year expired and doesn't work as well, I used a tablespoon vs 1/2 teaspoons. If you have a problem with your bread rising, use a tablespoon. It was slightly sweet but not overly, with a soft and crumbly crust but the inside was not dense nor crumbly. It cut really well and is a pretty yellow-tinged bread. Very good recipe :) And if it's not totally obvious, MELT the margarine before adding it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Bandziukas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States