Bread Machine Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Photo by Heather de Vega
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
This is one of the better recipes I have done in my bread machine. The texture is great, especially the crust. I made french toast this morning with the left overs and even though I burned it a little (my mother-in-las called and wouldn't stop talking), it was really great. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather de Vega

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
This is the best recipe I've ever made in my bread machine! I use soy or rice milk instead of dairy milk, and it turns out wonderful. I saw several people found the dough too dry after a couple minutes, but I always find it's too wet and I have to add more flour, between 1/2 to 2 cups more. I also adjusted the recipe to use three eggs, instead of two, after trying it a couple times. I use the sweet, light, large setting on my machine. Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Loved this bread - recipe is definitely a "keeper"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Wowzers! This is the best. Cooked up beautifully, easy to cut into perfect slices. I have a problem with some bread machine breads being hard to cut. Light, fluffy & delish. I put the milk, eggs, butter, sugar & salt in a bowl, nuke it (on the beverage cycle) until the butter melts, put this in the bread machine canister & add bread flour. I did use 2 t of yeast. Will be making this bread often! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eileen in OK
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Excellent Challah. I normally take my dough out of the machine after the first rise, but I was sick and feeling lazy today, so I just let the machine do it all. It came out wonderful. The only thing I did different was that I heated the milk prior to putting it in the machine so the yeast would activate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen in OK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henrietta, New York, USA
Living In: Spiro, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Pretty good bread. The kids and I liked it but my husband didn't like it though. He said it was too sweet. I will more and likely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chorn74

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
Like many other reviews, I chose to use the Dough cycle, braid the bread, rise for 1 hour, use egg wash and bake at 350 for 30 minutes. I also added an extra 1/4 cup of milk as some others recommended more milk and used 2 cups bread flour and 1 cup wheat. It rose nicely and baked wonderfully. The flavor was not as sweet as I'm used to with other Challah (so next time I will bump up the sugar a bit) but texture was fairly dense as expected with this type of bread. Definitely recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
Good recipe. I braid my challah, but I've received a lot of compliments using this recipe. In fact, I was designated THE challah baker for all future events after my first attempt with this recipe! I follow as instructed, but only put the bread machine on the dough setting. I take out the dough, braid, brush with an egg wash and bake at 350 for about 30 minutes (or until perfectly brown and pretty).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
The family thought the bread was good, but not great, and gave it 3 and 4 stars. We all agreed that there are other breads that we like much better. I used the bread machine to make the dough. I then braided the bread, let it rise for about an hour and baked at 350 for about 30 minutes. It looked really pretty. I don't think I will be doing this one again, but it was fun to make and a decent bread. Thank you for sharing the recipe, Suzy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
Wonderful! I mixed it in the bread machine, then braided it, brushed it with egg whites, sprinkled it with poppy seeds and baked it in the over (20-30min at 350). It was the perfect addition to our Easter meal. I plan on using it to make french toast based on other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States