Bread Machine Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
this is an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ethridge, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Corinth, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amber
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
The first time I made this it was so moist I kept having to throw in more and more flour. Then I realized much later on that I forgot the sugar! No need to worry it still turned out amazing and still had a certain sweetness. I'm making it again today only breaking down the dough in half to make two smaller loaves. What wonderful gifts these will make. Thanks a ton.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
Perfect! I made 8 smaller challahs instead of one big, so my kids could just grab one any time they wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steph webb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
This was very good, I tasted it while it was hot with just some butter on it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prell2k4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
made this yesterday for Easter, came out great!! I did put this into the bread machine but only hit the dough cycle. When done my daughter divided the dough into 3 parts made 3 long snakes out of them and braided the dough together tucking the ends under onto a greased cookie sheet. I then placed in dough into the oven (not turned on) covered the bread with a clean kitchen towel and rested the dough for about 25 minutes. When done resting, take dough out of the oven. At this point pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Now make an egg wash: take one egg white with 1 tablespoon of water whisk with a fork and brush on top of bread I also sprinkled seasame seeds on top too. return bread/dough to oven for aprox 25 to 30 minutes til golden brown. The next time I make this bread my husband suggested to me to meke this bread with raisins in it, that sounds yummy too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
This came out really great and was very tasty. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Gorgeous crust and a great taste. Sadly, mine didn't rise at all. I know my yeast is fresh and I even put it on an extended cycle in the machine :( Next time, I would be careful not to let the salt and yeast come into contact. Ah, well! Live and learn :) Chopped up into cubes, it made some pretty nice garlic croutons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apple Jacks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather de Vega
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
This is one of the better recipes I have done in my bread machine. The texture is great, especially the crust. I made french toast this morning with the left overs and even though I burned it a little (my mother-in-las called and wouldn't stop talking), it was really great. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather de Vega

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
This is the best recipe I've ever made in my bread machine! I use soy or rice milk instead of dairy milk, and it turns out wonderful. I saw several people found the dough too dry after a couple minutes, but I always find it's too wet and I have to add more flour, between 1/2 to 2 cups more. I also adjusted the recipe to use three eggs, instead of two, after trying it a couple times. I use the sweet, light, large setting on my machine. Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States