Bread Machine Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Very moist hubby loved it, I did use 1/2 of the sugar called for. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ar4stall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I made one change, I subbed the sugar for honey. It turned out beautiful. It is nice and moist, not too sweet, I look forward to making sandwiches for lunch with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by preta75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
I've never had real Challah before so I can't say whether this recipe makes "good Challah", but after my sister complained she wanted me to make a fine-textured bread, I decided to try this recipe - and while it might not be the best Challah in the world, it is an AWESOME bread machine bread. After the first rise, the dough was a little too sticky, so I added about 1/4 cup of flour. Other than that, I followed all the directions precisely. The dough rose so well that it puffed up out of the pan and was nearly touching the roof of my bread machine! Once done, the crust looked a bit burnt, but sliced easily. The top crust is wonderfully flaky, and the bread itself is soft and airy as a cloud! It's best served still warm, in a big, thick slice topped with sweet-cream butter - but, once it's a few days old, it also makes brilliant french toast or bread pudding! I plan to bake this bread many times in the future (My sister liked it so much that she wants to have it always in the house!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
It was just "ok". I highly recommend using "Miriam's Not-So-Secret Challah" from this site instead. For that one, I use the brad maker for the dough (selecting the "dough" setting) and then bake braid it and bake it in the oven as stated. It's amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I was so excited about this bread, however when it was all done baking, all I got was a short, dense piece of bread. It didn't have hardly any rise and the middle was very very dense. I don't know if it was an error on my part, most likely the yeast. Needless to say, I was very disappointed but I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I've never had Challah before so I don't know how it's supposed to taste, but I can tell you this bread ROCKS! I made it specifically for french toast (used the Fluffy French Toast recipe), and had to stop myself from eating it so there would be enough. I heated the milk and used warm eggs (put the uncracked eggs in hot water for 10min) to help activate the yeast. I used veg. oil instead of margarine, and increased the flour a little. I also made the dough in my bread machine but split in half after rise 2, placed in 2 loaf pans, let rise again then baked at 350 for 20min. I wrapped the cooled bread the night before using for french toast, but I should've left it out so it could dry out a bit more...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma_s

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This really was amazing. The crust on it is so flaky and crisp, and the inside is tender, moist and fine. A good challah, especially so for one made in a bread machine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fleetwood, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Scarborough, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This is the best bread recipe I have found.. I have baked it in the breadmaker as well as made is using the dough setting and baking it in the oven.. I've even used a little wheat flour.. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amystar79
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This turned out fantastic! I made a few changes according to what others have suggested. I substituted white sugar for honey and used unsalted butter instead of margerine. I used the dough cycle on the bread machine and let it rise in the bread machine for an hour. I then made a lovely braid and let it sit for an another hour to rise under a tea towel. I then brushed the braid with egg and honey. It came better than what i expected. I will definately have to make two next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amystar79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This came out excellent. I added a tablespoon of honey, let the eggs come to room temperature, warmed the milk to 100 degrees. As many others I used the dough cycle on my bread machine (I used the White bread cycle) and after completion of the dough cycle I rolled it out and braided it using 3, approximately 12 inch braids and let rise for 45 minutes and applied a egg wash and then into the oven at 350 for 25 minutes. It came out very fluffy and soft with a nice crust. Looked Really Good! It was not dense at all. We haven't seen what its like the next day because its all gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States