Bread Machine Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
loved this made it for a 94 year old jewish friend he gave it a 5 stars easy to make but it overflowed my bread machine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
amazing bread!!! i didn't take it out to braid it and it was still excellent. (will next time) i am saving this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I have used this recipe many times...trying others than returning. It has become a staple in our home and has become the most requested from hostesses when asking what to bring to any dinner Shabbat or otherwise. I even started experimenting by replacing a cup of whole wheat for the flour total. Kudos to Suzy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
VERY GOOD! EASY! so easy......I have my second loaf in my bread machine for the day for my mom's wedding this weekend. I didn't plan on Challah but changed my mind after making this...I would alter nothing in this recipe....perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nov111805

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Huron, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Very tasty! I made the dough in the bread machine. When the cycle was finished the dough was very sticky so I added flour and worked it in until the consistency felt right. I braided the bread, gave it an egg wash and baked it at 350 for 30 minutes. It was an amazing loaf of bread. Thank you Suzy for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This was awesome! I set it to the dough setting and then braided it, brushed it with an egg wash and baked it at 375 for 18 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Favorite bread machine recipe - use dough setting and braid after letting it rise in warm oven. Add an egg wash and you'll have a beautiful bread after 20-30 minutes in a 375 oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Oh...my...gosh. This...was...AMAZING!!!! I cannot believe that your recipe and my bread machine could be such a match made in heaven. Let rise and punch down twice??? Never again. This was the PERFECT recipe for the bread machine. Thank you so very much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
So I made a few substitutions, but it turned out great! I used 1/2 white whole wheat flour (my new favorite flour!). I also used honey instead of sugar. Turned out perfect in my bread machine. Yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I like to experiment with different Challah bread recipes and this one remains our family's favorite. Sometimes I set it for the dough cycle, remove it, and let it rise on a floured board, punch it down then braid it and let it rise again. Then I brush on an egg wash and sprinkle with sesame or poppy seeds and bake in oven on a lightly greased cookie sheet for about 30 minutes or until lightly browned. It looks so pretty braided and tastes terrific when spread with butter. When I invite dinner guests, they always ask if I am having that "fantastic braided bread" again! This bread is a classic keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Matthews, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States