Bread Machine Challah for Shabbat and Festivals Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Best Challah I have ever made in 20 years... The only thing I changed was adding 6 tbsp of sugar not 2. From the second I touched the dough in the bread maker I knew that I had Challah gold on my hands... will never use another recipe again. BEST EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This recipe just came out on the site today & I decided to try it & I am so glad I did. Wonderful flavor with a chewy texture that was exactly what I was looking for. The dough is very easy to work with & I turned out a beautiful, shiny, delicious work of art. Thank You for the recipe, I will be sure to share with friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
I gave this recipe to my 10 year old daughter so she could bake challah for the family every Shabbat and have a recipe to call her own. This is the best tasting challah. She has followed the recipe exactly and it comes out great every time. She recently made this challah for another family and they were asking for the recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Him
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Came out very good. I topped the challah with poppy seeds (my fave, over sesame). I had to add almost 2 cups more flour than is written, I have no clue why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Him

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Summersville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Mountain View, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amyskitchen
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This was a delicious bread and very simple to make. I would suggest increasing the sugar if you would like your bread a little sweeter. I sprinkled the braided loaf with a sugar and flour topping before baking. It came out delicious. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amyskitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by myfoursonsks
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I thought this bread came out very well. I have never had Challah bread before this, so I don't really know how it should taste. It was delicious though. It was simple and I had no issues with the dough at all. It was very nice and easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myfoursonsks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Odessa, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fort Lewis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
It was okay, a pretty loaf, but kind of plain tasting. Not bad, but have had better with less work. I used more surgar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DDRay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I made this and another challah recipe. I didn't find this bread had as much flavor as the one that required all honey instead of sugar. This loaf had good texture however. I need to revisit this recipe again as I now realize my mistake: I made two loaves instead of one. Doh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
by far the best tasting and easiest challah I have ever made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robyn
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
So good! I sweetened it up using 6 Tbsp. sugar (as another suggested) since I made this for Rosh Hashanah, added raisins, and sprinkled the loaf with sugar prior to baking. What a lovely, sweet (as I made it) loaf, that I will continue to use for Rosh Hashanah! FYI-it does need at least 1 1/2 c. more flour than recipe states. For weekly challah, I use one additional Tbsp. sugar, 1 c. whole wheat flour for part of the flour, and occasionally add raisins when bread machine "beeps," then braid into 2 loaves. Baking at 350 for 10 min., then decreasing temp to 325 for 10-15 more minutes works best for my loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States