Bread Machine Cardamom Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
I made 12 rolls and baked them for 22 minutes in a 350 oven. I could have taken them out at 20 minutes. They got a bit too brown. These were crusty on the outside, which is good, but I thought they could use a little bit more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
I made this using my KitchenAid mixer, and found that I'd made a mistake dumping in all the flour called for, it could have used maybe as much as half a cup less. It was way too stiff, and the resulting loaf wasn't as light as I prefer. I made some deep slashes in the dough before proofing in the pan, and after baking, brushed all over with butter. It was a very pretty bread, and the flavor was simple; mildly sweet. But the cardamom didn't show thru like I'd hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeside, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
Worked out pretty well. Maybe needed a tad less flour. I added a full tsp cardamom and probably could have even gone stronger. Mildly sweet and good with carrot and leek soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
Excellent bread. Only change I made was baked for 30 minutes instead of the 40-45 in the recipe as the top was already past a desirable browned point. I might add more cardamom next time if I intend to use it as a "sweet" bread. The way it is, it will be perfect for salads---or French toast, as noted in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taylor, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
Made this Bread several times and have gifted some loaves. Everyone says it is excellant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
This bread is wonderful. I tripled the amount of cardamom and used 1/2 cup less flour than called for. This bread is aromatic, tasty, and perfectly risen. I baked it in the bread machine, and it is a beautiful loaf. It has a nice, crunchy crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
I used 2 tsp. freshly ground cardamon seeds which gave it a nice aromatic but not overwhelming flavor - very good texture and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shezzza
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I didn't make this in a bread machine I did it the old fashioned way. I didn't find there was too much flour like others commented and it was perfect for French toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shezzza

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brentwood, New York, USA
Living In: East Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I wish this had turned out for me. I didn't read the reviews and I wish I had. It was too dry. Needs less flour than what was called for. I also had trouble with it rising. I didn't warm up the milk and maybe I should have. It was heavy and dry. I don't know if I'll try it again with a few modifications or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Also good kept in the bread machine the whole time, under 1.5 lb, light crust setting. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States