Bread Machine Cardamom Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 14, 2009
This is our family's favorite bread machine bread. Slighty sweet, super soft, and the cardamom is the perfect touch. Wonderful recipe that always comes out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This bread has a very good flavor. Very good texture, however I will set my machine on 1# loaf next time. It got a little dark on the 1 1/2# setting. Also, the bread was hard to get out of the pan. Maybe because of the applesauce instead of oil. I might try these as rolls next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michiganfoodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lombard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Excellent, light, moist texture. I made 12 rolls. On the advice of several reviewers here I doubled the cardamom, and I feel it was a mistake to do so. That much cardamom gave it a medicinal taste. Perhaps it was because the bottle of cardamom was brand new, so it was more potent - don't know for sure. Shame on me - I should have followed the recipe as written the first time, since I believe that subtlety works so much better in bread products than in-your-face spice does. As written, this recipe is most likely just about perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
this is an awesome sweet bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
I'm giving this recipe 4 stars as it is. With these changes I'd say it's 5 stars. I've made this bread 5 times now. It does need more cardamom, 1 tsp works well. I also use less flour, about 2 3/4 cup. And I use 1 tsp of salt. I learned that the hard way. The first few times I made it it would fall in the middle, then I researched bread making and I learned that the salt keeps it from falling in the middle. Now I love making this bread and giving it as gifts, it's really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 17, 2008
This is very good. I added a little more cardamom than called for--did 1 tsp total, and a bit more salt. Very delicious. Baking and rising times are spot on, too. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Also good kept in the bread machine the whole time, under 1.5 lb, light crust setting. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I wish this had turned out for me. I didn't read the reviews and I wish I had. It was too dry. Needs less flour than what was called for. I also had trouble with it rising. I didn't warm up the milk and maybe I should have. It was heavy and dry. I don't know if I'll try it again with a few modifications or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shezzza
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I didn't make this in a bread machine I did it the old fashioned way. I didn't find there was too much flour like others commented and it was perfect for French toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shezzza

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brentwood, New York, USA
Living In: East Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
I used 2 tsp. freshly ground cardamon seeds which gave it a nice aromatic but not overwhelming flavor - very good texture and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States