Bread Machine Cardamom Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Holy cow that's some great bread! I substituted maple syrup for honey, doubled the cardamom (as most reviews recommend), and substituted freshly mushed up pear for applesauce (it's what I had). Otherwise I did as instructed with preparing the dough in the bread machine then baking in a loaf pan. Loaf rose well, was fluffy and soft and moist. Even with the cardamom doubled, it could have used a touch more, though I would be cautious to not overdo it if you're serving it to unsuspecting folks. Can't wait to give these away as holiday gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
love the recipe, but would recommend the tangzhong method of keeping the bread fresh and moist. Tangzhong method is 1/3 cup bread flour cooked in 1 cup water on stovetop stirring until ripples become visible and it thickens just slightly. refrigerate with plastic wrap covering top directly and use the next day. 1/2 of tangzhong batch per 1.5 lb loaf. use in bread machine and add with liquids. note: will need more flour but leave it just a little sticky for a moister bread. it should also help preserve the bread naturally so that it stays fresher. many websites on the internet have the tang zhong method of breadmaking. it was discovered by the Japanese but chinese tea houses use it all of the time. Try it -- if you want look it up on the internet for more information on this method of asian bread baking. this method should work with any kind of bread using mostly white bread flour. would recommend making slightly sticky dough in a bread machine and then shape and bake in regular oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cbreadmachine
Living In: Pearl River, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
This is a great recipe. I've tried putting in 1/2 whole wheat and 1/2 white flour and it's also very good, but doesn't rise as much. I'm going to do as other reviewers suggest and try just letting my machine mix the bread and then cook it in a pan in the oven. I don't think bread machines get the crust right. I've also tried plain white flour versus bread flour and really find no difference in the end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mokpochica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Tasted okay. Good texture. I think this would make good French toast. My family weren't fans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Great bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Prepared just as directed. Delicious! Will become a holiday tradition food in our family. YUM! Thank you, Darcy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
A wonderful, delicately sweet bread. =) I made a round loaf and put it in a 10" springform. I used half whole wheat flour =X
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
This is a nice semidense loaf. I added extra cardamom but as I use whole cardamom it is hard to say how much. Every thing else is just right! We will be making this all the time. Very good with white chocolate marzipan spread on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwenfron
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
good bread, added 1 tsp cardamom instead of 1/2 tsp., taste real mild, fine texture, crunchy crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Wonderful, EASY recipe. Feel free to add more cardamom if you like the flavor (I do!). Thanks Darcy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States