Bread Machine Cardamom Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
I did not make this in the bread machine but thought it was great. The alterations I made were minimal such as proofing the yeast (adding water and sugar) and double rising it. Then baking in an oven about 45 minutes at 350. I also buttered the top about 35 minutes in. The bread was a bit heavy but delicious. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
This is a good recipe with some of the suggested modifications. First: as to the amount of flour. If you sift the flour first, then 3 cups are the correct amount. You should always do this when baking bread unless you are using the euro method of weight which is much more accurate. If you do not have a sifter, King Arthur recommends pinching the bag shut and vigorously shaking it then sprinkling into a cup measure one T at a time. Second: as to the cardamom. I used a heaping tsp freshly opened and it was certainly not too much. Third: I used 1 tsp salt as others recommended. I might try 3/4 next time. Fourth: Since the recipe calls for no oil, the only source is the egg and the milk so I used whole milk and if I were to use lowfat milk I would put in a T of melted butter. I used the dough cycle made 12 rolls let them rise 30 minutes coated with an egg wash and baked 20 minutes @350. I enjoyed them warm with hot chocolate in the Danish tradition. A thin sugar glaze with a couple T lemon juice might be nice to perk them up a bit. Thanks for a fine recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Guy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I really like the bread, I have it as toast and also made French toast with it. I did increased the cardamom to 1 tsp and salt to 1 tsp as others recommended and this amount is right. I used 2 cups bread flour and 3/4 cup whole wheat flour, and a little bit of ground flax seed mixed into the 3/4 cup (about 2-3 Tbsp). It fully cooked in the bread machine on light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbieT.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Something that people may not be aware of: Ground cardamom loses its flavor quickly, but whole pods retain their flavor for a long time. If you aren't getting the flavor you were expecting, maybe it's time for a fresh bottle of cardamom?? A little goes a very long way if it's fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Pine Mountain, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Very easy way to make a meal special. Followed directions as written except to increase the salt to 1 tsp. Some reviewers favored using 2 3/4 c. flour instead of 3. I initially tried doing that too, but ended up adding the 1/4 c. of flour back in as my dough was pretty sticky. Made into rolls instead of a loaf. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I have made this recipe over and over for my family and to take places. Its only gotten good reviews. Its a good bread w/o the cardamom, but its amazing with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
This is good bread - but I don't think the Cardamom flavor is strong at all. Anticipating that, I doubled the amount and still couldn't differentiate it. We liked the bread, but it wasn't quite what I was looking for, and seemed very similar to any other bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
This was simple and delicious!! I only baked it for 30 minutes and it was very well done. I also added extra cardamom and used normal applesauce. It's delicious warm with a little honey!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
This bread is outstanding and has a very nice sweet taste without being overpowering. I increased the cardamom to 2 teaspoons as suggested in other reviews, but the next time I make this bread I will add 3. In addition, I made the entire bread in my breadmaker, but it stuck to the bottom. Next time I will spray the bread pan with a non-stick spray; this is the first time that sticking has ever been an issue, but it was not surprising since there is no oil or "fat" to speak of in the recipe. I'll definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CHERYLMASS
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
A tale of two breads.I posted 2 pics of the two breads. The 1 on the left was made in a Sunbeam,the 1 on the right was made in an Oster.Both were made on the suggested settings,and with 1 1/2 tsp cardamom and 2 3/4 c flour. I accidentally reset the Oster,it went through a 2nd kneading.I think that's why it rose so high.That loaf also had a crisper crust. Both were delicious.I have a food blog that I posted larger pictures on.If you are interested in taking a peek, Kitchen toys make cooking fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLMASS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States