Bread Machine Calzone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2001
This was very good. I had some trouble cris-crossing it, but with practice, who knows. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Wing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2001
I also took my bread machine out of retirement for this recipe, and it was well worth the effort! I was worried I wouldn't be able to braid the dough and keep the filling inside, but I followed the directions and it was SO simple. I loved this recipe and will make it again soon. We used extra pizza sauce for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2000
Wonderful recipe when you have no time to cook! We changed this by making individual pies and made some ricotta stuffing to go with it. Take ricotta and season to taste with sugar, salt, dried basil, dried oregano, dried thyme, 2 hard boiled eggs riced, and the liquid from sauting crimini mushrooms. We added dried basil, dried organo, dried thyme, rosemary, black & white pepper, granulated garlic, granulated onion, and pecorino romano cheese. Let's the kids be creative on what they would like to stuff them with. Add a Lindemann Shiraz for the adults and extra sauce for the top and you are set. Had to come back and re-evaluate our rating. Changed it from a 4 top a 5. Definitely a keeper and has been showing up in our household in various combinations. Simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2000
Liked it, particularly since it allows me to use my old dusty bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2001
The bread on this calzone turns out wonderfully. Especially great when you brush the top with egg before baking it. It then comes out golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2001
This was great. I threw some mushrooms and turkey italian sausage in it and it turned out wonderful. This is a good recipe to have your children give you a hand with. A lot of fun to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Greer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2001
I decided that it was about time I try and make homemade calzones, so when I found this recipe, I was excited to try it out. The dough was great, very soft and tasty. I added a bit of garlic to the mix for flavor, which was great. I had a hard time folding the strips though. I think this recipe needs an illustration! Or maybe I need to be more artistic, oh well. The 2nd time I tried this recipe, I just rolled the calzone in a circle, then folded it, then crimped the edge. The result was a lot better looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2001
I made this recipe for supper last night and it's another winner. The dough was perfect and I didn't have to let it rest long to roll it out into a rectangle. It was picture perfect coming out of the oven and was as delicious as it looked. This is another winner. Thanks, Kevin, for sharing this wonderful recipe. Lucille
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2001
The bread was alittle hard to work with but it baked up great! This was worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2001
Wonderful recipe--I made it 4 times this week
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Spooky Calzone Snake

Spook your guests with this delicious snake shaped calzone!

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States