Bread Machine Calzone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2000
This recipe is great. I love to cook and when i made this my family loved it. Also I am 11 years old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2000
This was a wonderful recipe! The dough was lovely and soft to work with. The filling was easy to cook (I threw in some red and green peppers with the sausage)-Yum Yum! My husband was very impressed as I am not a cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2000
Wonderful recipe when you have no time to cook! We changed this by making individual pies and made some ricotta stuffing to go with it. Take ricotta and season to taste with sugar, salt, dried basil, dried oregano, dried thyme, 2 hard boiled eggs riced, and the liquid from sauting crimini mushrooms. We added dried basil, dried organo, dried thyme, rosemary, black & white pepper, granulated garlic, granulated onion, and pecorino romano cheese. Let's the kids be creative on what they would like to stuff them with. Add a Lindemann Shiraz for the adults and extra sauce for the top and you are set. Had to come back and re-evaluate our rating. Changed it from a 4 top a 5. Definitely a keeper and has been showing up in our household in various combinations. Simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2000
Liked it, particularly since it allows me to use my old dusty bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2001
The bread on this calzone turns out wonderfully. Especially great when you brush the top with egg before baking it. It then comes out golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2001
I also took my bread machine out of retirement for this recipe, and it was well worth the effort! I was worried I wouldn't be able to braid the dough and keep the filling inside, but I followed the directions and it was SO simple. I loved this recipe and will make it again soon. We used extra pizza sauce for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2001
This was very good. I had some trouble cris-crossing it, but with practice, who knows. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Wing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2001
I made this recipe using the suggested filling and it was great! The next time I made it used a more "adult" filling . Instead of what this recipe calls for I used tomato sauce, proscuito, goat's cheese, black olive slices and finely diced anchovies. It was a huge success !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2001
This was great. I threw some mushrooms and turkey italian sausage in it and it turned out wonderful. This is a good recipe to have your children give you a hand with. A lot of fun to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel-Honey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2001
I decided that it was about time I try and make homemade calzones, so when I found this recipe, I was excited to try it out. The dough was great, very soft and tasty. I added a bit of garlic to the mix for flavor, which was great. I had a hard time folding the strips though. I think this recipe needs an illustration! Or maybe I need to be more artistic, oh well. The 2nd time I tried this recipe, I just rolled the calzone in a circle, then folded it, then crimped the edge. The result was a lot better looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Mozzarella and Bread Salad with Pesto

See how to make a bread salad with fresh mozzarella and pesto.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States