Bread Machine Calzone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
This recipe is awesome!! I made one change with the dough, I added 3/4 tsp of garlic. I also filled them with Italian sausage, ham, pepperoni and crumbled bacon. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I made this tonight. I only used the calzone dough and it reminded me of the calzones I used to eat in NY. It was great. I also made individual calzones, and I let the dough rest when it came out of the bread machine and then let it rise for about 15-20 minutes after the calzones were done. Since everyone wanted their own filling, I "glued" a piece of the filling (pepperoni, broccoli, etc.) to the outside so everyone would know what was inside each one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Dough was very elastic when taken out of the bread machine. FYI, some nice person advised me that it should rest for a few minutes before using. Also, recipe did not say to let rise after forming the calzone, but I made individual ones and the ones I did first (that had some time to rise) weren't as tough, so I would allow for some rising time also. Although pretty good, the filling was pretty basic. And leaked out anywhere I did not seal perfectly. Now that I know a little more about making these, I WILL try again, allowing extra time for the above and being much fussier about sealing the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
Turned out tough :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janell the Great

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
My family absolutely loves this dish, we make it into individual calzones and add whatever toppings that one wants, the kids love to help make dinner! The only down side it I cant seem to get the dough thin enough, it always seems too thick and tough, if anyone has any tips, let me know please! Other than that this is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bonner Springs, Kansas, USA
Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
Fantabulous!!! I made individual sized calzones and the family couldn't wait for the second batch to come out of the oven. I added some Ital. seasoning and some Parmesan cheese to the dough but that was the only change I made. I will be making this again real soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
I just used the crust recipe for my calzones. It was easy to handle and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starsha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sweeny, Texas, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
2 Thumbs UP! Made this exactly as recipe stated (except used meatballs instead of sausage). I can see this becoming a "staple" in our house. Especially when I have a houseful of growing kids and all their friends. So many possibilities and options - a great recipe to "tweek". Easy way to use up leftovers! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom2hhh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
Oh Yum!! Everyone loved these and the leftovers are just as good the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Great recipe! Yummy, versatile, easy and kid friendly. What else could you want? I didn't have powdered milk so I replaced the water with warmed skim milk. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J A M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Mozzarella and Bread Salad with Pesto

See how to make a bread salad with fresh mozzarella and pesto.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States