Bread Machine Calzone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
A new favorite in our house, and the best part is the filling options are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joyful1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA
Living In: Zumbrota, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
The dough was great. I don't know what I did different but it made 2 huge calzones. I filled mine with ricotta, mozzarella and ham. So good. Next time I will add some seasoning to the ricotta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenbabby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Port Richey, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
This is very good! I would like to add that you can make this without using a bread machine! I made it without a bread machine and it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by @},--'-----

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Hood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
10 STARS! I have made this too many times to count over the past year. I use milk in place of the water and powdered milk, and add garlic powder and oregano to the dough. Terrific recipe for customizing with your favorite meat and veggies inside. We like this served with a zesty Italian sauce on the side and no pizza sauce inside. For a double batch, I like to make a cheese filling with 15 oz ricotta cheese, 16 oz shredded mozzarella cheese, 1 egg, black pepper and oregano. Over top of this, we layer: sauteed onions, garlic, peppers, mushrooms, diced tomatoes, rosemary, oregano, and cooked meat or pineapple and ham. The braiding makes a beautiful calzone and is easy to do. About five minutes before it is done baking, I brush it very lightly with butter and a touch of Parmesan cheese. If you make a double batch, make sure you help the bread machine get started with the mixing as it is a lot of flour, but it works in my Hitachi bread maker. Better than what you can get in a restaurant! Thank you Kevin K.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This recipe was great. I made the dough in my bread maker and added a little basil, oregano, and a sun dried tomato/Parmesan dry mixture. For the inside I used homemade tomato sauce, mozzarella, sauteed broccoli/red/green peppers/garlic. I topped the calzones with butter and parmesean before I threw it in the oven. It was AMAZING. The outside breading was so good I could have eaten it plain as breadsticks. The only thing that was a little hard was dealing with the dough because it was very sticky. It was worth it and I will definitely be making this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by talgal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
These calzones were excellent. My husband said it is the best thing I have ever made(and I cook a lot). The dough tasted exactly like Pizza Hut's pan pizza. I do not have a bread machine so after proofing the yeast(mixing the yeast w/sugar and warm water for 10 minutes), I added the other ingredients and kneaded it for about 6-8 minutes. After that, I let the dough rise in a covered bowl in my oven on the lowest setting. Rolling the dough out was a breeze and the recipe is really quite simple with delicious results. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Yummy!!!! We love garlic so I added some garlic powder to the butter, very tasty! The braid will take a little practice.... Great base recipe, next time I'll add some differnt fillings and I bet this will be just as great! Thanks for sharing!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Very easy! I just rolled it out to a 10"x16" rectangle, put the filling inside, and sealed it up. I made half of it vegetarian (ricotta, red and green bell peppers, onions, sliced black olives, mushrooms and mozzarella) and the other half with pepperoni. I chose to dip the calzone in marinara instead of adding to it. I may put the sauce in next time. I think the dough would make a nice loaf of bread too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Good! I have also used this dough on the grill as a BBQ pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melvillegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
being a professional baker, I do not own a bread machine. I do however own a Kitchen Aid Mixer. I made 1 1/2 times the recipes as some other reader's have done and I mixed it on the mixer. I allowed the dough to rise until double, about an hour. This dough was so yummy, we all made pigs out of our selves! It made delicious Calzones and we where each able to make our own, with our favorite fillings. I loved mine with Spinach, Mushrooms, Onions, ham and Mozzarella cheese. My husband suggested that next time, I leave some dough unused, and fry dough balls as some Italian restaurants do, and make zepoles for dessert. (small fried pizza dough balls, rolled in powdered sugar after frying)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tokazodo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hatteras, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Spooky Calzone Snake

Spook your guests with this delicious snake shaped calzone!

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States