Bread Machine Calzone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
This was very good. I tried to make it gluten free and would not recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
This was a good recipe; I didn't have powdered milk so I used 1 cup milk in place of it and the rest water. I added garlic, onion, and Italian seasonings to the dough to add flavor. I did my own filling of breakfast sausage, bacon, pepperoni and salami with various cheeses and my pizza sauce. Was good, and I'll make again, but the dough was too wet, so I had to work with amounts of flour a bit. I had scaled for 8 servings, and had to add about 10 tbs flour, and ended up with 6 large calzones from it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHTTRBUGIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Fun recipe. Will experiment with fillings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Thorrougood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
This turned out really well. Braiding the top was easier than I thought it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
I did not use a bread machine for this recipe. Here is what I did.... I added the yeast and sugar to very warm water to my Kitchen Aid mixer bowl and l let the mixture sit for 10 minutes (until bubbly). Then, I added the flour, salt and milk. I mixed in the mixer for 5 minutes with the dough hook. Then, I covered the bowl and let it sit in a warm spot for 1 hour, punched the dough down, rolled out on a cornmeal covered pan, filled and baked. AWESOME!!! I doubled the recipe, filled 1 with ham and cheese and the other calzone with sauteed onion, garlic, spinach and feta cheese. The dough was crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. I will definitely be making these again. Super easy, too!! Thank you, Kevin K. for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by runningmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I used this recipe pretty much to make calzone dough in the bread machine, and I like the taste/flavor of the dough. The fillings change each time we make them. Very good for the dough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYDadCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
OK...Let's start!! Easy!! The bread machine does all the real work...It even proofed it. I used milk instead of water because I did not have powder milk on hand. I also added teaspoon extra sugar, and a teaspoon extra yeast. I like mine with a little more yeasty sweet flavor. Also I would put this in a 350 degree oven and after 15 minutes turn it down to about 300 to 325 degrees depending on your oven, that is if you like a less dark crust. Plus I used spinach, cheeses,sausage, pepperoni, peppers, onions and drained olives, so needed the extra cooking time, for the inside to cook and the outside not be over cooked, I just turned the oven down. this recipe would make great Breadsticks...just add some herbs and garlic and onion to the mixing bowl...Very Tasty and Thanks for submitting it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gemstoneprincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
I made this recipe last night. I added mushrooms. The ingredients did not spill out onto my cookie sheet which was great. I would have increased the sauce, calzone was a little dry. Making just one made it seem to bready. When I make it again, and I will, I will make two smaller one instead. Very good, very easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
We just made this tonight! Huge success. Ive never made bread before, even in a bread machine so I was nervous! It was wonderful and the whole family got in on making the calzones. We did change the insides to our own personal pizza tastes but oh man were they good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Lincoln

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I can really only speak for the dough and cook time, because that's all I use this recipe for. When I make calzones, I cut the dough into four equal sections and fill them with cheese, veggies, and meat (but never sauce, that gets served on the side), and then cook as directed. So easy and customizable for everyone in the house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Spooky Calzone Snake

Spook your guests with this delicious snake shaped calzone!

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States