Bread Machine Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
These bagels were fantastic! This was my first time making bagels, so I wasn't sure how they would turn out. The recipe is super easy - I don't know if I will be buying bagels at the grocery store any more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Taste just like bagels from the bakery! My kids love them! I topped some with cheese and garlic butter and some with cinnamon sugar before putting in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMcFadden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Plains, Oregon, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
These were FANTASTIC! We just loved them and they tasted just as good as if we bought them. I used olive oil instead of the egg white and just sprayed the bottom of the pan since I didn't have cornmeal. I also didn't use a bread machine but they still came out tasting great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
they turned out perfect as promised, I didn't change a thing except the egg wash, which I substituted with milk, brushing them just before baking so that the poppyseeds stay put. Wonderful recipe, so very effortless and quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
I made this recipe just as it says except I used the egg yolk on top of our bagels with a little melted butter mixed in. (in place of the egg white) It came out yummy and we have made this several times since. Usually we make this for dinner with egg and cheese in the middle, sometimes ham too. VERY YUMMY! I highly recommend you try it out lol!! I find that I need to add a tiny bit of water into the dough as it is mixing bc it doesnt QUITE mix in all the way. I just open the lid, add a bit of water and use a rubber scraper to get anything off the sides and mix it all as it turns around. OH and as far as the hole in the middle, i just pinch a hole in the center and swing it around my finger a little bit. Sometimes I leave it out too. I don't notice a difference in taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewCookinMama
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lindsey
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
YUM!! I basically followed the directions with the exception that I added a tbsp of baking soda and a tbsp of sugar to the boiling water. I also dunked em in an ice bath after boiling (after reading various articles on the topic on the web including the one here on allrecipes). Oh and no bread machine here I used my Kitchen Aid mixer and dissolved the yeast in the warm water with the sugar prior to adding salt and flour. Although to me they should have been a bit denser they were delicious, chewy and soft and I will for sure make again. I only got 9 sorta smaller bagels, next time I will try 6-7 bagels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Love this recipe, I will definately make them again...tomorrow ! Only change would be double the rising time to 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
First time I ever made bagels! These were great. Read reviews and followed much of the advice. Thanks guys! Made 2 batches for my big family. One plain with poppy seeds. I split the next, made half with cinnamon and raisins and the other with cheese. Made 8 bagels from each batch and size was perfect too. Recipe is going into my "make again" file!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I made these for a Sunday breakfast. When my husband says it is a "do again" it is really good. I used half white flour and half white whole wheat flour. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Amazing bagel recipe! This was the first time I had ever made bagels before, and this recipe was easy to follow and turned out great! I didn't change anything about it, and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 636) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Amazing Bread Machine

Use your bread machine to make delicious cinnamon rolls and more!

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States