Bread Machine Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
They turned out pretty hard...maybe I did something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmundston, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Loved this bagel recipe - easy and delicious. Purchased sesame, fennel and poppy seeds from a site called Nuts.com. Really inexpensive and received the next day. They are the perfect garnishments for these wonderful bagels - I would highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
these were delicious!! much better than any bagel i've ever had...ever. i did increase water to 1 1/8 cup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommaLaraTx
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
The receipe is PERFECT. Oh it took me some practice to get the shaping, second rise, boiling, and baking down pat, but now on my 4th or 5th try I'm in HEAVEN. I'm a displaced Jersey Jew in Denton Tx, I NEED my bagels! Now that I know how to make them perfectly I am going to try a cinnemon raison version. Only comment I have is, that I've basted with olive oil, egg and misted with water. I settled on the olive oil one for cost and personal preference. The water didn't work at all, the egg works great, but I love the extra bit of chewy I get with the olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I did this recipe in my KitchenAid mixer, and foolishly, just threw everything in and mixed it up...if I'd been thinking more, I would have treated it like any other bread recipe in my mixer and proofed the yeast, then added the other ingredients, since I'm not using a bread machine dough cycle. But the good news is, it still worked and I have beautiful bagels. Great recipe and I'll be experimenting with this one again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIGERBER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sterling, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
These are very good and so easy! Chewy goodness. Now I don't have to buy them from the store and be disappointed. I did make some changes though, I increased my water like other reviewers suggested to. I omitted the sugar and used 2 tsp non-diastatic malt powder in the dough and 1-2 Tbsp of the malt powder in the water instead. I didn't have any bread flour on hand so used AP flour and added 2 tsp vital wheat gluten flour and I didn't brush with egg. After they came out of the water, I just dipped the rounder side in topping of choice (onions for me) and baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly as written, they taste great but the inside of the bagel was more like a roll than a bagel. The outside was chewy but the inside was too light. Better than grocery store bagels but not as good as the great bagels at the bagel shop near my house. I sprinkled the cookie sheet with cornmeal but the bagels stuck to the cookie sheet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I'd written a review before but I just wanted to add to it. I love bagels. The only problem I'd had with them had been in sandwiches with everything squeezing out the middle. I stopped making the holes in them. Ok, it's sacrilegious to make bagels into rolls but they still taste the same, almost as good as NYC or CT bagels, but without the sandwich hassles and less work to make. Friends have been pleasantly surprised by my "rolls" and liked the idea of no holes. Maybe, if this catches on with bagel shops, with less labor involved in making them (the ingredients are cheap), the price of bagel shop bagels might go down a bit. 1 more thing. Boil them for 2 min each side for chewier bagels/rolls, which ever you decide to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
i live in high altitude area. i baked my about 20 more. was still doughy but that is my fault I didnt flatten the dough out enough. But yes this recipe give the bagel stores a run for their money. I did pizza, garlic and then onion toppings in the batch of 9. tasty tasty tasty. I am in carbo heaven atm..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mars
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
These turned out wonderfully, I added parmesan as a topping, I will not be buying bagels anymore. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 643) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

The Amazing Bread Machine

Use your bread machine to make delicious cinnamon rolls and more!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States