Bread Machine Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
This was SO easy and so very good. Like most people I substituted molasses for the sugar in the water & I put a pan of hot water in the bottom of the oven too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Absolutely love these. Easy and delicious, they don't last long in this house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
This was a simple recipe. I learned two things when making it though...First, do not roll the divided balls flat. Simply give them a press with your hand to flatten them somewhat and then poke the hole and spin the bagels. Half of my batch ended up flat after baking because I crushed any work the yeast had done. Second, Celery seed is NOT a good bagel topping. The ones I put it one just tasted like celery. It was very weird. But the parmesan and plain ones tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hmccall
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This was the first time I have ever made bagels and they rocked! Very easy recipe. I added a little cinnamon sugar on top before baking and also used whole wheat that I grind myself. The texture and taste were awesome! I will continue to use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Very nice, chewy bagels. They may not be huge, but I made 8, and could only fit 6 on my baking sheet. I didn't use the egg wash, but think I will next time, because the toppings didn't really stick. And in Chile, there aren't any good ovens, so the bottoms got a bit too brown while the tops weren't browned that evenly. The folks who are complaining probably don't know that a bagel is SUPPOSED to be chewy. I did boil them a bit longer than 2 minutes, because that's what makes them chewy. Also, I didn't twirl them, just stretched them. Easier and got holes that stayed. Also, this is the fastest, easiest bagel recipe I've ever seen. My machine has a rising included in the dough cycle. So, I just let it rise. I've never made bagels that didn't call for a first rise until doubled in bulk, anyway, and it worked beautifully. Will be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigDen Bear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
I have made this a few times, as written and I love it. I made them today and added cheese and they are delicious. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
WOW! This is the best bagel recipe I have found so far!!! I don't have a bread machine, so I made this by hand. I proofed my yeast for 10min then added flour and salt to the mix. I kneaded the dough, covered it with a damp towel and let it rise for 30min in a warm area. After that, I punched down the dough and gave it another 30min. I only cut my dough into 6 sections (I like big bagels) and shaped them into bagels. I let them rise for another 15min and then added them to boiling water. I decided to do an olive oil wash and then added some minced garlic and pretzel salt to the tops. SOOO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I make this recipe all the time. I usually use the bread machine but today I am going to try the Kitchenaid so I can make a bigger batch. The only thing I haven't quite mastered is how to make them look nice. They are the ugly bagels because the holes always close but taste as good as Einstein Bros. I'm from NJ and have tried a lot of bagels :) Today I am going to try cutting bigger holes instead of just poking through with my finger. I will update this review if it helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I am so excited! These were really, really, really good. I tried making bagels @ home once a few years ago... the flavor was okay... but it was a ton of work & they looked a little funny. These, however... seem to be foolproof... and the instructions, plus tips from other reviewers have taught me so much to improve my lackluster bagel making skills. The dough seemed a little dry in the machine, but that could have been anything, not the instructions... so I added a tablespoon of warm water at a time until I saw it coming together better in the pan. I tried rolling the dough into ropes (from another reviewer) but had better luck flattening into a ball, making a hole, and stretching the dough out from there (from the recipe). Also, once I formed the bagels, I did let them sit over an hour to try to get them to be less craggy looking. Along those same lines, I did make 6 bagels though, because I wanted something to resemble big NY style bagel shop bagels. Overall, I am very, very, very pleased with this attempt and thank you so much for posting this recipe. I will be trying again in another day or so once the remaining 3 are gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rbcary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eustis, Florida, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
These are definitely a keeper for plain bagels. Very easy. I did however, mess up a little. I forgot to let them rise before putting them in boiling water. They were big already though so its all good. I made 6 because if I made 9 they would have been super small. I didn't add anything to the tops either. I didn't even brush on the egg. They were fabulous. Shaped a little funny but it was my first time making them and I will get better. Next time I will try what another reviewer suggested. Roll them into like a fat snake and pinch them off so the hole is already the right size and they wont be as deformed. :) Great recipe. Thanks! I did read some that didn't turn out well. Not sure what they did wrong. Didn't measure correctly or the humidity maybe affecting things. Mine came out perfect except for my shaping antics. These were quick and easy to make not sure why some thought it was hard. If they are too floury you used too much flour and if they got too flat its either the temperature or not enough yeast or too much. Things don't always come out the first time you make them. Try again different part of the day maybe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Gardner, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 643) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

The Amazing Bread Machine

Use your bread machine to make delicious cinnamon rolls and more!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States