Bread Machine Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This recipe makes GREAT bagels, just like I grew up eating! I tried these yesterday afternoon and am currently making the fourth batch- my family cannot stop eating them! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Thank you for this recipe... i love it!! It is a great base recipe and I often add my own spices to change it up. I never thought that making bagels would be this easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Revelstoke, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Used the 11/8 C. of water as others suggested and cut the dough into 16 pieces to make mini cheese bagels for coworkers. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Awesome! I added blueberries to my dough after the machine pulled it together. I made eight, and they were ginormous! They do rise quite a bit if you leave them out for half an hour or so, and they continue to do so in the water and oven. Excellent recipe-- thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
My bagels turned out lumpy and thin. i think the method of how you make these bagels should be explained more here. i did the suggestion of other people and added more water and my dough was too watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Taste like what you get from a bagel shop. Made one batch Saturday to try and in the process of making another right now. Like some previous reviewers suggested I made 6 from the batch and the size was perfect. With respect to the recipe I kept everything the same except I added 2-3 tsps. of water to bring everything together. I also did not use the egg wash. And this time I'm going to try turning them halfway through baking. As far as boiling, I didn't add anything to the water. When I was in high school I worked part time in a bagel store/bakery. There was always a large pot (cauldron?) of hot water which we dumped the bagels into before baking. There was never anything in the water nor did anything go on the bagels except the toppings. They went into the oven on burlap covered boards which had been sprayed with water and the bagels were flipped halfway through baking and the boards removed from the oven. These taste as authentic as any shop. I'll be trying the poppy seeds as soon as they're delivered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
These were great! I think next time I may try adding snips of dried tomato and Italian season to a few and perhaps blueberries & blueberry pie spices to a few. Thank for posting this for us to try! =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Haysi, Virginia, USA
Living In: Linden, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Awesome recipie ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Perfect bagels the first time! Amazingly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
My first time and fantastic outcome!! At the last kneading and rising in machine I added cinnamon and raisins that I soaked in some water. I allowed to rise half and hour. Just perfect and my hubby and I ate too much! I spread cream cheese on mine. I froze them and thawed them in the microwave for a minute and toasted them. PERFECT!! And so, so easy. And good for you with no preservatives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 607) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Amazing Bread Machine

Use your bread machine to make delicious cinnamon rolls and more!

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States