Bread Machine Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
This was awesome! I modified the cook time from another recipe. 500 oven preheat bagels in reduce to 450 eight minutes and turn sheet eight mor minutes. Let bagels sit for the fifteen and serve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Perfect bagels, way better than store-bought. Made 1 batch and ended up making 2 additional batches the same day to freeze for use throughout the week because they were so popular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
A very good recipe for making bagels. I make a double batch using a Kitchenaid. Bagels are precision baking. Amounts, temperature and time matter. Here are changes to the standard receipe that I feel produce a better homemade bagel. 1) Increase water to 1 1/8 cup. 2) Decrease sugar by 1/3 for non-sweet bagels. (Consider the topping or how you are serving). 3) I increase salt to a tbls. (Its an important balance between the flour and salt that affects the taste/texture.) 4) 1st rise is 1 hour for non-breadmachine method. 2nd rise is 20-30 minutes after shaping. 5) Use 4.4 ounce of dough per bagel, 4.7 ounce for big bagels. To improve appearance, make a ball of dough. Stretch the top by squeezing and pinching between thumb and index finger. Poke the bottom upwards with your other hand's index finger as you pinch when closing your fist. (Looks similar to holding a small balloon in a closed hand.) Gently flatten and poke a hole in the middle. Then spin around your two index fingers. The result is a smooth top and finished bottom. 6) Boil the bagel for 45 seconds each side. 7) The egg white/2 tbls of water wash is important in producing a good color. You only need one egg white even if doubling recipe. It also helps bind your topping to the bagel. Be creative with toppings. 8) Temperature is specific to your oven. I cook 28 minutes with 2 cups of water in a preheated (hot) pan. I pass on my great respect to the fine bakers of New York and Brookline, MA that inspire us all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beverly, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Best EVER! I topped with the egg wash and a mix of cinnamon and brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Fantastic! Better than store-bought and incredibly easy. I used 1 1/2 cups white, 1/2 cup spelt, 1/2 cup pumpernickel rye flour. I also boiled with molasses and used olive oil instead of egg white, as suggested in the reviews. I make 8 per batch because the dough divides easily that way. I'll never buy bagels again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I think the trick is the rising time. I did let mine sit in bread machine for about 1/2 hr, then formed and let rise again for about an hour. I added 2 tbsp brown sugar to the boiling water and created a sweet outside with perfect texture. I thought they were too hard right out of oven, then let them sit for a little and they were perfect. My whole family raved about them and they stayed well in plastic bag for a few days before all gone. I would suggest making double batch and bigger bagels. I live in high altitude and did not adjust the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
This was SO easy and so very good. Like most people I substituted molasses for the sugar in the water & I put a pan of hot water in the bottom of the oven too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Absolutely love these. Easy and delicious, they don't last long in this house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
This was a simple recipe. I learned two things when making it though...First, do not roll the divided balls flat. Simply give them a press with your hand to flatten them somewhat and then poke the hole and spin the bagels. Half of my batch ended up flat after baking because I crushed any work the yeast had done. Second, Celery seed is NOT a good bagel topping. The ones I put it one just tasted like celery. It was very weird. But the parmesan and plain ones tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hmccall
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This was the first time I have ever made bagels and they rocked! Very easy recipe. I added a little cinnamon sugar on top before baking and also used whole wheat that I grind myself. The texture and taste were awesome! I will continue to use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 629) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Amazing Bread Machine

Use your bread machine to make delicious cinnamon rolls and more!

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States