Bread Machine Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly as written, they taste great but the inside of the bagel was more like a roll than a bagel. The outside was chewy but the inside was too light. Better than grocery store bagels but not as good as the great bagels at the bagel shop near my house. I sprinkled the cookie sheet with cornmeal but the bagels stuck to the cookie sheet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I'd written a review before but I just wanted to add to it. I love bagels. The only problem I'd had with them had been in sandwiches with everything squeezing out the middle. I stopped making the holes in them. Ok, it's sacrilegious to make bagels into rolls but they still taste the same, almost as good as NYC or CT bagels, but without the sandwich hassles and less work to make. Friends have been pleasantly surprised by my "rolls" and liked the idea of no holes. Maybe, if this catches on with bagel shops, with less labor involved in making them (the ingredients are cheap), the price of bagel shop bagels might go down a bit. 1 more thing. Boil them for 2 min each side for chewier bagels/rolls, which ever you decide to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
i live in high altitude area. i baked my about 20 more. was still doughy but that is my fault I didnt flatten the dough out enough. But yes this recipe give the bagel stores a run for their money. I did pizza, garlic and then onion toppings in the batch of 9. tasty tasty tasty. I am in carbo heaven atm..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mars
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
These turned out wonderfully, I added parmesan as a topping, I will not be buying bagels anymore. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
So...I don't review things very often but I've been using recipes from this site for the past 5 years or so... I had to review these bagels because currently I'm an expat living abroad and haven't had access to store bought bagels in forever. So I decided to make my own. Now here's what I did. Instead of using 3 cups of bread flour I used 2 cups whole wheat flour and 1 cup of all purpose flour. I just wanted it to be a bit more nutritious. The first time I didn't use warm water and that was not a good idea since the dough didn't hold together very well, the second time I made it with warm water and the dough was perfect. Another big mistake I did the first time was I didn't let the dough rest after shaping it.... (I was anxious to have the bagels...) the second time I did it (after I devoured the first batch) I let it rest the required time and it rose beautifully... basically the first batch was good but the second batch was absolutely divine. The second time I followed the instructions to the letter (with the exception of using 2 parts whole wheat flour to 1 part all purpose flour.) I also, baked them for 15 min at 375 degrees, but thats only cause I made two batches of this and wanted them to last a few days...so I figured toasting them in the morning in a toaster would make them completly browned and hot when I needed them to be...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
VERY GOOD. I don't have a bread machine so I used a mixer. Based on other reviews I let the dough rise for about an hour and I made the 8 bagels instead of 9 but I think if I made only 6 they would be a better size. They really turned out very good and I will probably make them again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Good bagels. I do not think they are as good as what you get at the bakery, but they are cheaper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UtesCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
These are the best! Thank you for sharing this! My family loves them and has asked that I no longer buy bagels but make them. We have added sweet and savory toppings. Also make them plain. We make sandwiches from these too - they are great! I made no changes to the recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
These... were... AWESOME!!! My husband and I went crazy over these! Very dense and chewy just as a bagel should be. If you follow the directions, they're very simple to make. I brushed mine with olive oil instead of egg white and they came out beautiful. For those of you who, like us, feel like you can't get a good bagel outside of Montreal... these come pretty darn close!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mclifford973
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Excellent! I have made this exact recipe no less than 50 times. I can't believe I never gave it a review. I make "everything" bagels for work and these are perfect. Loved by everyone. So fresh. They freeze excellent, even if you slice before freezing. Wrap well. Remove direct from freezer, 30 second defrost in micro and you can eat or toast just a bit for crisping. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mclifford973

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 607) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Amazing Bread Machine

Use your bread machine to make delicious cinnamon rolls and more!

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States