Bread Machine Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by C.Gotobed
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
This recipe was great! I've made bagels before and almost burned out my stand mixer from mixing the thick dough. I never thought to make it in the bread machine! So much easier this way, and they taste great! I topped some of mine with poppy seeds, and some with cheddar cheese and garlic. We're almost finished the batch and I'm going to make more today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C.Gotobed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I made these exactly as directed and they turned out great! I love that you can just throw the dough in the bread machine and forget about it. I only got 8 bagels out of the dough and they weren't very big but I have little kids so they actually were the perfect size for them! I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Awesome! I have soy allergy and I'm no longer to buy most store bought bagels due to them containing soy flour. The one brand I found that didn't contain soy was not very good. I made these last night and this morning I already need to make another batch. I will make a smaller number to get a bigger bagel this time. These have made my day! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I just made these for the first time and they are delicious!! I made 6 large bagels. I added raisins and cinnamon to half and cheese to the other 3. They were easy to make and taste amazing! I will definitely be making these on a regular basis now. I can't wait to try them with cinnamon chips now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Tried these today. Have to let them rise longer. Will for sure try them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I also added 1/8 cup water. They turned our perfectly. My children say they are way better than store bought. We have made cheddar cheese, cinnamon and sugar, poppy seed, sesame seed, and plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KLFeeney
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I make these bagels all the time. I have topped them with poppy seed, sesame and "everything" - all with just a basic whipped egg-white egg wash. I usually only make six from the standard recipe. I have made the following flavor mods that have all worked out very well. For cinnamon raisin, when the add mix-in buttons beeps, I add in a 1/3 cup of raisins and 1-1/2 tsp on ground cinnamon. I actually take the dough out and manually knead all the extras in for a minute and then put them back in and let it finish kneading. For blueberry - I add about 1/2 cup of dried blueberries and do the same thing - knead some in and then put the dough back in and let it finish kneading. For Asiago - I add about 1/2 cup of grated room temperature asiago cheese - knead it in and then put the dough back in and let it finish the cycle. I let all my "versions" raise as they are supposed to, and then I add then I add 3T non-diastatic malt powder and 1T of sugar to boiling water and boil the bagels for 45-60 seconds on each side and then I dry them on cotton dishtowels before brushing them with beaten egg whites and cooking them in a 375 degree oven with a steam bath for 20-25 minutes. Enjoy the variations :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLFeeney

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I have used this recipe a few times and each time they have turned out great. I add finely chopped jalapeno peppers into the bread machine (about half way through the machine process). My bread machine has an alert beep when you can add any additional ingredients. Prior to baking I also shred asiago cheese on top of each bagel. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Crystalball
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
This was my first time making bagels and I picked the perfect recipe! I made an even 8 bagels (I like even numbers and from the other reviews they sounded smallish). I omitted the poppy seeds since they always stick in my teeth. I did a brush of veg oil instead of egg white. I topped half with cinnamon sugar (a lot!), and the other half with a little sprinkle of kosher salt. They were both amazing! The only thing I should have done was to make sure the holes were a little bigger so they didn't close completely. But no harm done, they baked up perfectly at 25 minutes. I can't say how impressed I am with how well they turned out. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
So simple and delicious. I topped mine with cheddar cheese. Making garlic ones next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 621) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Amazing Bread Machine

Use your bread machine to make delicious cinnamon rolls and more!

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States