Bread Machine Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Very, very good. I agree with the last review. Extremely hard to get off the pan. I will grease the pans next time. I also added an additional 2T water per other reviewers. Making a 2nd batch today with blueberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Delicious! And so easy. I substituted in 1 cup whole wheat flour, added 1 T cinnamon, and a box of raisins. I let them sit for half an hour after shaping, but they still weren't the most beautiful. Maybe a little more water in the dough next time? Also, very difficult to get off the baking pan, even with cornmeal. I think I'll use parchment paper next time. There WILL be a next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I dont think I've seen this comment yet, so here goes... VERY important to use bread flour as stated. I used all purpose the first time. Tasted good, but looked ugly. Tried a second time, same results. Purchased bread flour, and goodness! What a difference! Looked GORGEOUS and tasted better than with AP flour. So there you go, tastes fine with AP, but use bread flour for better taste and appearance. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spatula flipper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
These were pretty good. Not the best bagels I've ever made, but definitely 4 stars. 5 stars for taste, but the dough was hard to work with and a little off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Wow, these where Great! Fast and so easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkeley Heights, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I tried this recipe twice and I was not happy with the results... I did use all-purpose flour, and maybe that is why they didn't come out right. They were gummy and not bagel - like. The parts that were not gummy did taste good. I suggest you do use bread flour and not all-purpose. I will try a no-boil bagel recipe. I might try to do that with this recipe. It just wasn't a bagel and I don't give such low ratings... Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I love baking!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
These are awesome! The first time I made them they tasted great but were a little flat. The second time the are the tastiest and prettiest bagels I have EVER eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LROSM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I didn't have very high hopes for these when I was making the dough (I used my kitchen aid mixer)... it was extremely dense and shaping them into balls, let alone poking a hole in the middle and shaping them into bagels, was difficult. The dough didn't seem to have much give to it and my bagels didn't look very pretty once I managed to get them where I wanted. I let them rise for probably 30-45 minutes after I shaped them, which gave some of them a nicer look, but they weren't exactly pretty. However, they were delicious. They were chewy but still soft... I was worried they'd be too crisp when they came out of the oven since they felt kind of hard but nope! I made 12 mini bagels (6 sprinkled with steak seasoning, 3 plain, 3 topped with sugar and pumpkin pie spice) and 3 big bagels (2 topped with cheddar and jalepenos and 1 plain). They were a huge hit, my 19 month old and my husband both gobbled them up as if they hadn't eaten in a week. These will become a staple in my house, I doubt ill ever buy bagels again. The only thing ill do differently next time is add 1-2 extra tablespoons of water and watch the amount of flour I use more carefully to try and get a nicer looking bagel. Either way these were wonderful, thanks for sharing! *EDIT* I made these again with 2 extra tablespoons of water and ended up with the most beautiful looking (& delicious) bagels. So much easier to work with when you add a little more water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by <3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I will make these again! They tasted delicious! I tried dehydrated onion on top, but I burned the onion :( I will try again as these wee sooo yummy!! Easy to work with, and since I never made bagels before, they were fun too. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
super chewy... Love Love Love this recipe. Next time I will to roll the dough into a log to form bagels... this batch was ugly but delicious, next time they will look as good as they taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 635) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Amazing Bread Machine

Use your bread machine to make delicious cinnamon rolls and more!

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States