Bread Crust Zucchini Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2002
This recipe was very good, but I made several changes: I didn't use the bread per earlier reviews that indicated it would get mushy. I also used 1 Tbsp olive oil instead of the butter, used a mixture of zucchini & squash, and added 2 chopped green onions and 3 chopped artichoke hearts to the vegetable saute. I used lowfat cottage cheese, replaced the yogurt with fat-free sour cream, used Eggbeaters instead of the eggs, and added 1 Tbsp parsley to the cottage cheese mixture. Baked at 400 degrees for 30 minutes; it turned out wonderfully! My husband and I almost polished it off just between the two of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Practically Organic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springdale, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2002
I have tried this recipe several times and each time, the bread on the bottom of the pan stays mushy. Not a bad flavor, but soft bread doesnt seem to work for a crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2003
After reading several other reviews, I was careful to follow the recipe exactly and stand my bread along the side of pie pan, not the bottom. In this way, I avoided the bread turning mushy. It was toasted nicely, and the cruchiness definitely balanced out the dish. The quiche itself had a nice tangy flavor, although the cottage cheese mixture didn't set as well as a regular quiche. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
In two words - too bland - to suit me. I made it without bread and I added a little bit of carrot and green pepper to the zucchini. Also added a few drops of hot sauce and some onion salt. But it needs something else to liven it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOXHUNTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
I'm very pleased with this recipe even making it lower fat. Followed others recommendations and used low carb bread, olive oil in place of butter, added 2 cloves garlic minced, 2 scallions chopped, 1 1/2 t. oregano, 4 egg whites instead of whole eggs, 2T. fresh parsley, 1/2 c. parmesan. I also did mix the veggies with the egg and cheese mixture and then poured into pie plate. I also baked it for 45 minutes cause it was just a little too loose for my liking at 30 minutes. Good job and thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Groton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
My husband and I loved this! Others reviewed this as bland, but with a few minor changes/additions, it was very tasty and refreshing. I used 12-grain bread instead of wheat (tastier), 1/2 cup skim milk in place of yogurt, doubled the oregano, added 1 tsp. dried parsley, 1 cup shredded cheddar/mozzarella blend and salt/pepper to taste. Delicious (tasted a bit like pizza, but better)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dreechrismom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2001
Although this was easy to make, it was not a big hit with my family tastewise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2001
This was really good! Next time I'll make it in a bigger pie plate and add some more zucchini. More Parmesan on the top helps, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2001
My family loved this recipe. It was low in fat and delicious. Next time I make it, I will probably leave out the bread, and mix the zucchini mixture with the egg mixture before I bake it. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2005
The changes I made to this recipe were minimal: I added a bit more zucchini, one red pepper and also used parmesan only for sprinkling (mature Cheddar in the quiche itself). Mine set fine, but they did take a bit longer than 30 mins (closer to 45). It even looked very pretty and appetising. However, I found it bland and flubbery, and didn't finish my slice. It tasted of something I couldn't quite put my finger on, but didn't really remind me of quiche. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FADEDDREAMS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Braintree, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Blueberry Zucchini Bread

Blueberries and zucchini are married perfectly in these summertime loaves!

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States