Bread Bowls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2006
Wonderful idea, I used it with my cream of veggie soup and it was just delicious!! Dont forget to butter the bowl liberally though, if ther was any spot I missed, the bread stuck to it!! That was my fault , so I give it a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
We did this at perkins, only we had rounds of frozen dough that we let proof and we didn't roll them out- we just manipulated the dough over the bowl- save yourself some time- do it that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
This was easier than I thought it would be and the end result was impressive! I used ground herb italian seasonings sprinkled on both sides of the dough while rolling out. This not only added flavor but made for a nice looking bowl. I think a nice salad will work well in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
Very plain, but a great way to spruce up a meal! We thought these went well with African Chicken Stew from this site. My only problem was getting the bowls to be big enough; my dough was still a little frozen, which didn't help, but I couldn't roll 1/4 lb of my dough out to 8 inches to save my life. But even though my bowls were shallow, they were still pretty tasty! Make sure you really coat the bowls and the baking sheet with oil or cooking spray, because the dough sticks on like superglue if you miss a spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
The recipe was fine, but when making the bread bowls, I used greased custard cups instead. The smaller bowls work better. Put the dough over the custard cups, and then proof them. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
Such a cute idea Andrew! My whole family really enjoyed being able to eat their bowl! I served chicken a la king in these, however, to make life a little easier, I used the non frozen Pillsbury Italian bread in the tube. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
My kids (super picky eaters) loved this. They were so impressed by the edible bowl, they didn't really notice the potato soup in it. I had a little trouble making a lip. With the greased bowl, it kept shrinking up on me. I had to tuck my lip under the edge to keep it in place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calliej

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Instead of all the work of stretching around bowls here is what I did. I turned on the oven to 350 and ran it for about 1 1/2 minutes and turned it off. I put a oven safe dish of hot water on the lowest rack setting and then put frozen bread loaves uncovered on a greased cookie sheet and put them on a rack above the water dish and closed the oven. It takes around 2 hrs for the dough to rise. Then take the bread out and pull it apart into 5 chunks per loaf of dough. Use your hands and make it into a ball making sure the bottom is somewhat flat and solid then put back on the cookie sheet and into the warm oven to rise again for about 30-45 minutes. They will naturally rise again and form the shape of a bowl. Brush w/ eggwash or butter/olive oil whichever you like and bake at 350 for 17-22 minutes. Let them cool. When cool, cut off the top w/ a bread knife and gently take out the inside but leave at least 1/4 inch on all the inside area. Gently push your fingers around the inside to firm up inside and bake the bowls for up to 10 more minutes to crisp up. It may sound like a lot when it is typed out, but it is very easy. Frozen bread dough is very tough to pull and stretch w/o tearing so this route is simple. You could even just cover the frozen loaves of bread overnight on a table or counter w/ plastic and towel on a greased cookie sheet and that would take care of the first step before forming the circles. I also sometimes mix in italian seasoning or parmesan chee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

How to Bread Foods

Learn how to bread foods to add flavor and a crispy crunchy texture to your dish.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States