Bread Bowls I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I agree with the other review already here, wishing I would have read the reviews first. I also agree that these came out like disks. There is no way I can serve the corn chowder I made in these disks. The flavor is okay but way too flat for a soup bowl. I followed the recipe just as written being sure to check water temp for yeast and raisng dough correctlty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
I used totally whole wheat flour and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
The dough didn't raise into bowls, just hard, disks. It lacks flavor, it needs something, maybe honey or a little more sugar. I will not make this recipe again, and I wish I had read the reviews first and tried the other recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
I use all purpose white flour in the whole recipe and 2 tablespoons of yeast. The result is a bread that does not compete with the food inside it. I also pull out the bread inside the bowls to dip into the soup or the stew. The bowls are moist and chewy inside and crusty on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVESTOCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bible Hill, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
I had no problem getting the bread to rise up, but it tasted bitter when it was done....was expecting much more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
made a corn chowder and was great. never made anything like this so was kind of scared how they would come out and was perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
I followed this recipe exactly and ended up with 4 small, hard bread disks... They didn't even resemble bread bowls... I would recommend using just a light bread flour and not flattening them into disks. The Italian bread bowl recipe on this site is 500 times better!!! Take a look at that one if you want a good bread bowl :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2001
Great tasting and fun to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2000
halfed the recipe and they turned out too big than what was expected. I just halfed them again to make a bowl. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2000
I ended up with hard "cracker" like rolls rather than bread bowls. They did not rise up into anything deep enough to hold soup. They actually worked well, though, as I broke them up and dipped them in the soup (which I served the old fashioned way - in bowls from the cupboard.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States