Bread Bowls I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Awesome for the chili we made and very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
This is a nice, hearty bread bowl. Not sure about the directions to flatten into disks--I never do that, I just form into round loaves and let rise, then bake. Once the dough is baked, you can cut off the tops then cut around the edge and pull out the insides for a nice bread bowl. I am not sure what the trouble is with rising for people--make sure everything is room temp except the water, which should be at 110 degrees F in order to have the yeast rise properly. These bowls hold up well. I served a southwestern style soup in these with cheese and avocado--delicious. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I think this is great my daughter was able to make it over the phone we talked a bit and it was great michael b
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This made excellent bread bowls! It is a keeper in our house! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I didn't flatten into disks after reading the reviews, but my bowls still turned out pretty flat. The underside also caved upwards a little bit. Mine were done at around 30 minutes instead of 40-50. The taste was just a little bit off. I'll keep searching for a great bread bowl recipe. I was very disappointed in this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I used 3 cups whole wheat flour and one white. Also, divided dough into 2 instead of 4, as I wanted larger bowls for putting dip in at a party. The taste was fine, but they didn't raise into bowls. I would try this recipe again, but don't flatten into disks at all. Whatever shape they are when they are doughy is what shape they will be when they come out. That is really the only major issue with this recipe, otherwise the taste is fine, and makes a nice crusty outside with a more chewy inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
This receipe worked fine -- I didn't flatten the bread to discs before baking, I left them as balls. I put a home made stew in them. The bread had a nice coarse taste and texture to them, perfect compliment to the stew. In addition the crust was firm and chewy/crunchy that tasted really good and held up well under the gravy of the stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
Didnt like them at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Shearwater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I agree with the other review already here, wishing I would have read the reviews first. I also agree that these came out like disks. There is no way I can serve the corn chowder I made in these disks. The flavor is okay but way too flat for a soup bowl. I followed the recipe just as written being sure to check water temp for yeast and raisng dough correctlty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
I used totally whole wheat flour and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States