Bread and Celery Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I followed recipe nearly exactly. I was so glad I didnt have to use eggs as my son is severely allergic! I wanted a little more color so instead of using 4 stalks celery, I used 3 and then I used about a half of a red pepper. Nobody could believe I made it ! (I couldnt either !) I WILL NEVER buy boxed stuffing again. This is sooooo easy and quick to make. You could add whatever spices you like. I added just a little bit of thyme & sage. Oh and I had leftover whole wheat bread and spelt bread which I make in my bread machine so I used a mix of it. It didnt get soggy, which I was worried it would especially reading some reviews ! Awsome and perfect ! THANKS SO MUCH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Delicious and easy. Should have Mae more for my Thanksgiving dinner. It was the first thing gone. I did double the liquid using chicken Better Than Bouillon, instead of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
This was so tasty! We needed a vegetarian option for my brother at Thanksgiving and this worked out great! We subbed the chicken broth for vegetable broth and cut up big chunks of 'TX toast.' I put it in a casserole dish and baked in the oven rather than the turkey. Tasted even better as leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This is basically the same recipe my mom always made when I was growing up. I love it because it is classic stuffing - none of the fancy stuff involving oysters or sausage or whatever. Basic and classic. Wonderful. I made this recipe (for the first time ever) this Thanksgiving and it was delicious and perfect - it will be my go-to stuffing recipe from now on. It was easy to make and cooked up beautifully. I did a double batch, put half in my turkey, and baked the other half in a casserole dish in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megallyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Everson, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I finally settled on this stuffing recipe...it was SO hard to choose! I didn't want to "over do" the flavors and so many others seemed to have too much going on. I made it as stated and then it was so easy that I got brave. I ended up adding one chopped up Granny Smith apple (next time I'll add two), pecans (lots) and a pound of the Jimmy Dean sage sausage. I used four baguette loaves of french bread, I used baguettes because I like the flavor that the crust provides and then I also threw in about half a loaf of homemade 1/2 whole wheat bread (although I didn't even notice it in the final product). This was beyond delicious! My husband who is a Stovetop worshiper (we've only been married 3 months...don't worry, I'll convert him!) and he said that it was truly the best stuffing ever. He said that the "extras" weren't extra at all and that they made the dish. Here I was thinking that I would shock his simple bacheloresque taste buds and he actually liked all of the flavors. Hooray! Thanks for the base recipe, it's a great kick off to add extras that you know that your family likes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Tried this for Thanksgiving 2012 (made with French bread)--- it was awesome! Thanks for a "keeper" recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I used bagged bread cubes and doubled the recipe. Good thing I did because it was a huge hit. I was able to stuff the turkey full and still have a 9 x 11 dish. Will make again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Exactly what I was looking for! It was the perfect stuffing for our Thanksgiving dinner. The only complaint was that my guests ate so much of it, I don't have as much leftover ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by micsulli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This got the BEST reviews on Thanksgiving by my company! My father in law (who won't touch stuffing) went back for seconds after I urged him to just "try" this dish!!! This recipe is a keeper and will forever be a staple at my table from now on!!!! I did add 2 granny smith apples to the onion and celery mix and fried up jimmy Dean's breakfast sausage and added that as well. I could not ask for a better recipe! Many many thanks for this one Carlota!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 687) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread and Celery Stuffing

See how to make a classic stuffing recipe for the Thanksgiving turkey.

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States