Bread and Celery Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Exactly what I was looking for! It was the perfect stuffing for our Thanksgiving dinner. The only complaint was that my guests ate so much of it, I don't have as much leftover ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by micsulli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This got the BEST reviews on Thanksgiving by my company! My father in law (who won't touch stuffing) went back for seconds after I urged him to just "try" this dish!!! This recipe is a keeper and will forever be a staple at my table from now on!!!! I did add 2 granny smith apples to the onion and celery mix and fried up jimmy Dean's breakfast sausage and added that as well. I could not ask for a better recipe! Many many thanks for this one Carlota!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Don't need to try it. My daddy made this every Thanksgiving with the addition of sage and the beaten eggs. And a little more poultry seasoning, I think. The best was that what didn't fit in the turkey - triple the recipe! - got made into patties, each patty topped with a pecan, and baked in the oven. Turkey and dressing and green bean casserole and sweet potato pie and even chocolate pie ended up as leftovers, but never the patties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I will NEVER EVER buy boxed stuffing again!! This stuffing was soo good and so easy to cook, everyone LOVED IT! I followed the recipe to a t and wouldn't change anything about it! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This IS the best stuffing I've ever made. I added minced garlic and carrots into mine. I also used half french bread and half 9 grain Italian bread. I'll defiantly make this one my go to stuffing. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nom^_^nom

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I have used this recipe for 34 years.However when the children were small they didn't like the celery or onions. So one year i took my cuisinart and blended them in an almost liquid. It was amazing--- same taste and texture minus the celery and onions pieces. Tess
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Okay, this is a great recipe. I tweaked it a bit, and I'll tell you why: I like a really moist stuffing. As it is, this would be great for going into a bird because it would soak up additional juices. For just baking, though, I recommend adding a bit more moisture. I kept NEARLY everything the same, but I'm a Pennsylvania girl, and we make our stuffing with saffron. I used all wheat bread (a day-old loaf from the grocery store bakery) and I substituted the cup of chicken broth in this recipe with a cup of water that had been simmered with saffron strands on the stovetop. (Both the saffron threads and the water went in). I did use chicken broth but only enough to bring the mixture together. I spread it in the bottom of my buttered casserole dish and topped it with slices of butter. It will be absolutely DIVINE when I bake it for Thanksgiving on Thursday. Great recipe, Carlota.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Have made a similar recipe for years handed down from my great-grandmother. With a few exceptions (we use the giblets from the turkey) cook them with chicken broth and vegs. Then we grind them with a blender and add the stuffing. Also we always use sage. This is so yummy. My favorite side for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I love this recipe! It is simple and easy to do. I make my own bread for the recipe. I also add in some carrots. My boys loves this stuffing and they hope that I make it every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I've made this recipe for years, EXCEPT I add a tablespoon of ground sage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 668) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bread and Celery Stuffing

See how to make a classic stuffing recipe for the Thanksgiving turkey.

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States