Bread and Celery Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Best traditional stuffing recipe by far! To save time I purchased whole wheat sourdough bread that was already cut into one inch pieces, toasted and seasoned from a farmers market (which was definitely the way to go). I used Olde Bay Seasoning instead of poultry seasoning to add a little more flavor. I was nervous about adding too much broth or not enough broth but really just used my judgement and it came out perfect. I made this the night before and refrigerated in a covered stoneware casserole dish (that was sprayed very well with Pam) and baked once the Turkey was done. I think making the night before gave the stuffing time to fully absorb the flavors. This is a definite keeper for my Thanksgiving Day meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA
Living In: East Greenbush, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This was the first attempt at making stuffing and it got rave reviews by all. I actually made two versions one where I added a pound of sausage and one without. The only thing I changed after reading some reviews was I used 1 tablespoon of poultry seasoning instead of 2. I was told I am now in charge of stuffing every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I thought this was good but I felt it needed more chicken broth and butter, once I added that it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Nothing but rave review over Thanksgiving and even had one person who doesn't care for stuffing that liked it. Easy and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I lost my mom's recipe, so I tried this one out. It was great! I made a broth from the giblets/neck and added a few tablespoons of the turkey stock as it cooked and used that instead of the canned broth. I also added 1 egg & the meat from the neck & some giblets - because I know my mom added these to her recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris Bowman
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Just made this today and it was delicious! I was looking for a recipe close to my mom's and this one looked very similar. I think it turned out even a little better. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Make one pan of cornbread with sage in it and one more cup of broth. Add it to this recipe and you will have Texas Dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
For so few ingredients this is a very tasty stuffing. I did, however, need to add additional broth. I used homemade chicken stock and added about 2 cups worth. It went into a 9x13 baking pan just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I let the bread stay out overnight and might have let it longer even. Aside from that, I followed it to a T and it was simple, easy, fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I've been making this stuffing for years, and I always get the thumbs down when I even dare to mention trying another stuffing recipe. I also put a pound of mushrooms in this stuffing. Soooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 663) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread and Celery Stuffing

See how to make a classic stuffing recipe for the Thanksgiving turkey.

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States