Bread and Celery Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Very similar to our family recipe passed down from our ancestors from Germany. The only difference, saute some green peppers with the onion and celery. We don't use the butter but rather Crisco instead. My mother-in-law now uses my family recipe now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
This is my go-to for Thanksgiving, and the closest thing I can find to what I grew up on. The key ingredient I add is cornbread, which gives the stuffing a little added sweetness. I just make a box of jiffy mix and use half the pan (once cooled). I cut back a little on the dry bread accordingly. I sub sage for poultry seasoning usually, but either works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
If you have never made stuffing before or are surrounded by picky eaters, this I the perfect recipe! It is both simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Just like mom and grandma used to make. My only change is that I cooked it in my slow cooker for 5 hours (2 hours on high, 3 on low).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RONNASTEFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
This is a tried and true recipe. I save all the ends from sandwich loaves for this purpose. If you dry the bread in the oven at a low temp, it accelerates drying and prevents sogging. I make my own stock with the poultry neck and giblets and the veggies in a rough cut. I separate the veggies from the stock and finely chop them. I also add chopped walnuts and finely chopped apples for an added twist. Always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne Appel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
I've been using this recipe for the past year or so, but I had to make some changes, because on it's own it's only okay. I usually add 1-2 eggs, depending how much bread I use. I toast half of my bread cubes for some texture. I like to add extra seasonings to the poultry seasoning, sometimes rosemary, sometimes parsley, and sometimes thyme, and then sometimes all of them. This recipe is a good starting point, but I do think you need to expand upon it to make it a "wow" stuffing/dressing. I would recommend adding the broth/stock a little at a time to your liking. I like mine moist, but with eggs I never use a full 1 cup of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chobette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jamestown, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
OMG.....exactly how MOM makes it. And the soggier the better.......haaa.....gotta be STUFFED in the bird!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick Boyd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
This stuffing is great! I needed it fast so I cubed my bread and toasted it in 225 oven until completely crunchy. The flavor and texture was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
This is exactly how my Mum and Granny use to make their stuffing. I could always do without turkey, potatoes, etc at Christmas but give me a plate of stuffing and I am very happy. As I now live in the tropics, celery is not always available ( imported ) so when I am able to buy it, I chop and freeze. If I do not have enough celery, I substitute a local veg, christophene, which does the trick. This is a wonderful recipe and I would not change a thing. Thank you Carlota for bringing back memories and saving me money now that I no longer buy Stove Top stuffing ( that too is imported and VERY VERY expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
We made this for Christmas dinner. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 670) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bread and Celery Stuffing

See how to make a classic stuffing recipe for the Thanksgiving turkey.

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States