Bread and Celery Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
I grew up on this but we call it dressing. We do not stuff our turkey, instead this is served on the side. The only thing I do differently is air dry the bread for a few days on cookie sheets - not a few hours (turning several times to make sure both sides dry out completely). The bread is nice and dried out and the dressing does not get soggy. I also double the recipe using two loaves of bread (my family loves the leftovers on top of their turkey sandwiches). Because I double the recipe, I bake this in a roasting pan (and use a little cooking spray on the pan to ease cleanup). When you're making this, add a little broth at a time and stop when it seems right for your taste (if it's too dry then add more, but if it's nice and moist then stop). I have made this with poultry seasoning and I have also made it with sage - they are both very, very good and there is really not a huge difference in taste, so it's just personal preference. I have made several types of dressings and stuffings but always come back to this family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BroncosFan
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2000
This is basically the same recipe handed down thru the years in my family but for 1 change. We also use 2 beaten eggs which help keep the stuffing together. And of course ours fits a 19 - 22 lbs turkey. My family looks forward to this stuffing each Thanksgiving as that is the only time I make it and a turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
706 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
Excellent stuffing! I've made this stuffing for several years, experimenting a little each time. I now add 2 Granny Smith apples - peeled, chopped and sauteed with the onion and celery; 1 cup chopped walnuts; and for a meat variety I fry up 1 pkg. of ground Jimmy Dean Breakfast Sausage with sage, drain fat, then add the sausage to the bread crumbs before adding broth. The vegetables, apples and sausage will moisten the bread somewhat. For beginners, add broth slowly while mixing the stuffing so bread does not become too wet or soggy. I usually use less than 1 can of chicken broth. (You can add any leftover broth to your gravy.) Family and friends devour this stuffing! Grandkids love it! UPDATE Nov.2008: I now include 1 small 6 oz. bag of craisins with the above ingredients. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
553 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, California, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
This is exactly the recipe I use but with French Bread..not white bread...It gives the dressing much more substance and it holds together much better..:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
263 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2002
This stuffing recipe was a hit at our last Thanksgiving dinner. My husband was skeptical (his mom's recipe is "the best" he says) but now he wants me to make this every year!! Toasting the bread kept it from getting soggy and gummy like most recipes taste. This is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marilla, New York, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
My guests- americans and europeans- all liked this. However, I used both old french bread and sliced white bread - 1/2 and 1/2. I also used more poultry seasoning than it calls for and added some salt to bring out the flavors. In addition, I sauteéd the onion until almost caramelized - they were very golden -and added sliced mushrooms at that point. I then cooked them until the mushroom were cooked. It was a hit, but only after modifying it. I actually added bread as it was too soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2001
My first attempt at making dressing "from scratch". What was I worried about? This was so easy! The kids loved helping me cut up the bread, which I did first. Then we sprinkled a little onion and garlic powder on the cubes and toasted them in the oven. I will add a little more broth next time but... I think that really all depends on if you like your dressing more on the moist or dry side. I was quite proud of my first attempt! Thanks! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAMMHOCKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
For my first Thanksgiving I wanted to woo everyone. This stuffing was the HIT. I used 1 box seasoned bread mix and 1/2 lb of dried white french bread and mixed in some leftover wild rice and just 1/2 teaspoon of poultry seasoning and followed rest of directions. I didn't put it in the bird but rather on the side in a 9x18 pan and baked, it was crispy and soft at the same time. Kudo's to the author on this one and Thanks for the great receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
This is a basic but very yummy stuffing. I was specifically looking for one that would bake out of the bird (since we deep fry our turkey). This works well but it is necessary to double the liquid. I used 2 cans of chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
This is just like my family's recipe that has been handed down through generations. The only difference is it is written in measurements!! I was told by Grandma and Dad to add "enough broth to make it moist" or add 'a dash at a time until it tastes "right".' I like to measure and this recipe makes it turn out perfectly. Even Dad said it was better than his. Tip - toast the bread very lightly, combine the night before with a little less broth and poultry seasoning than it calls for. In the morning, toss it again and taste it. Add a drizzle more broth if it is dry or a dash more poultry seasoning if needed. (the seasoning gets stronger as it sits overnight so don't overdo it) Also, the intensity of the seasoning depends on how old it is. Seasonings weaken over time. I suggest baking it covered in a casserole and uncovering it with about 15 min to go so it is a little browned and crisp on top. And cut the onion and celery very fine. That is key. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 682) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bread and Celery Stuffing

See how to make a classic stuffing recipe for the Thanksgiving turkey.

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States